more thank you notes from the wedding

A little housekeeping is needed first thing this morning to wrap up Sunday night’s post about the wedding … there were a few thank you notes that were left unsaid:

First. thanks to my sister Beth who made a special two-hour round trip to our house on Thursday to bring me a copy of the ceremony and all that her husband Jack would be saying as a part of the ceremony.  She also brought a monogrammed mug and some of the napkins as well as a ‘Mint to be’ tin and a framed photo of Caleb on one knee proposing to Kerstyn.  Even though I wouldn’t be there, she wanted me to be able to follow along with the ceremony as if I was … complete with the wedding day ambiance.  Thanks Sis!

Thanks to my daughter Kerstyn who stopped by in route to having her hair done to make sure I had the boutonniere I would have worn had I been at the wedding giving her away.  I love you sweetheart.  You were a beautiful bride.

Thanks to my daughter Cindy and her husband Jamey who volunteered for eldercare duty … basically babysitting dear old dad so that my wife and grandson could be at the wedding.  Thanks so much guys!!!

Thanks to my niece Kate’s friends … the two Sarah’s … for assisting with some of the last minute directorial duties at the wedding and helping ensure the months of planning and preparation done by Beth, Jack and Kate were executed to perfection on wedding day.  While I’ve never met you ladies … thank you for the supporting role you played in helping this be such a special moment for Kerstyn, Caleb and our family.

And finally … another thanks to my sister Beth, who for nearly an hour, took pre, during and post ceremony pictures of the wedding texting them to us every few minutes so we could share in the joy and happiness of the wedding real time.  Cindy, Jamey and I so thoroughly enjoyed experiencing the wedding this way.  I love you so much!

We are family!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to more thank you notes from the wedding

  1. Susan Ernest says:

    It was a beautiful wedding. I love ALL the times I have shared with your sweet family. I love each and everyone of you. Thanks to Sheryl for asking me to do a toast to the lovely Bride and Groom. I was honored to do so.

    • bwebbjr says:

      Let’s face it Susan … you are family … you were there when the first sparks of love ignited my relationship with Sheryl and you have been there ever since for us, for our kids, for our grandkids … thank you!!! I was so glad to hear from Sheryl on Friday night that you offered the toast for Caleb and Kerstyn … thank you!!! Sheryl said that I can go months and years without talking to or seeing Susan and then we’ll meet and talk just like no time has passed at all … that is a true blessing … that is family … we love you and thank you for all the love you have poured out on our family!

      Bernie

  2. Steven Sawyer says:

    What a wonderful celebration for your family, Bernie. May God richly bless your expanded family and yours. Are grandchildren in the future? They are wonderful as well. Take care and God bless.

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thanks Steven and yes, we have enjoyed the joy of 8 grandchildren and 2 great-grandchildren. May God bless you and yours in all you do! Bernie

  3. jimdavenport says:

    Bernie, thank you for sharing your family moments with us. I know that your love for your children, grandchildren and great grandchildren will be remembered for generations to come. You are such a blessing to me. Jim

  4. Daughter Cindy says:

    Eldercare? Ha!! I am just glad I got some undivided attention from my Daddy – didn’t have to share you with anyone else…except sleeping Jamey! 🙂 I love you, Daddy.

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thanks Cindy … I really enjoyed my time with you and sleeping beauty. And your presence here made it easier for Mom not to feel like she needed to rush home right after the wedding. I love you sweetheart! Bernie

Leave a comment