visitors

“When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, then he will sit on his glorious throne. Before him will be gathered all the nations, and he will separate people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. And he will place the sheep on his right, but the goats on the left. Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?‘ And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.’” Matthew 25:31-40 (ESV)

I believe in this modern era we live in, visiting can come in many variation others than just an in person appearance. As long as both sides can communicate back and forth instantaneously, IMHO that counts as a visit. So a visit could be …

  • A constantly by-your-side caregiver and companion
  • An in person and onsite visit
  • A phone call
  • Texting
  • Messaging
  • Skype

So I have a number of friends and family to thank for visiting:

  • My wife Sheryl and my grandson aka son Noah
  • My daughter Kerstyn and her fiancé Caleb
  • My daughter Cindy and her husband Jamey plus my granddaughters Mckenna and Chaney
  • My daughter Rebecca
  • My Mom and Dad
  • My sister Beth, my brother-in-law Jack and my niece Kate
  • My mentor and IN Christ small group … Corban, Joe and John
  • My brother-IN-Christ Jim D
  • My sister-IN-Christ Anne K
  • My long time fellow co-workers and brothers-IN-Christ Stacy and Steve
  • My co-workers Alan, Janet, Vichearo and Jamie
  • My loving boss Linda
  • My niece Christie
  • My hospice care workers Ellen, Nell, Savannah, Ashleigh
  • My chaplain Bob
  • My palliative pharmacy delivery team
  • Even my Aetna case worker Jose
  • Fill in the ______________ for those I’ve unintentionally omitted and those yet to visit

Thank you and note what Jesus stated about those who visit the sick above … reread it if you like.

Something we all need to realize and I think it is illustrated in the passage above, is that when we are sick we become a conduit for the love of God. What Jesus seems to be saying above is that as we do indeed visit the sick, the love shown for one another is a love for the body of Christ … a love for me is a love for the indwelling Christ Jesus … so it is indeed loving Jesus.  And I believe that as a conduit of love that love is bi-directional … you loving Jesus through me … and Jesus loving you through me … an unending circle of love.

Loving one another is loving Jesus.

Perhaps Andy Stanley says it best:

Your devotion to God is illustrated, demonstrated and authenticated by your love for others.

And I think that’s a wrap on this brief post.

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Cancer & Medicine, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to visitors

  1. Susan says:

    Bernie I haven’t been reading my followed posts recently and as I read you last half dozen posts I realize I’ve missed a lot of what’s been going on with you. So glad that you are still blogging and inspiring others ❤

Leave a Reply

