I can only imagine

A little more than a decade ago, the band Mercy Me prompted us to consider that scenario with their hit song:

“I Can Only Imagine”

I can only imagine what it will be like
When I walk by your side
I can only imagine what my eyes will see
When your face is before me
I can only imagine Yeah

Surrounded by your glory
What will my heart feel
Will I dance for your Jesus
Or in awe of you be still
Will I stand in your presence
Or to my knees will I fall
Will I sing hallelujah
Will I be able to speak at all
I can only imagine
I can only imagine

I can only imagine when that day comes
And I find myself standing in the Son
I can only imagine when all I will do
Is forever, forever worship you
I can only imagine, yeah I can only imagine

Repeat chorus 2X:

Yeah I can only imagine I can only imagine
Yeah I can only imagine I can only imagine
I can only imagine I can only imagine
When all I will do Is forever, forever worship you
I can only imagine

 Recently someone shared a story where a reporter asked Mother Theresa what she would say to Jesus when she found herself face to face with Him for the first time. Her witty response, “You’ve got some explaining to do.” Wise people have a way of coming up with witty answers like that in the moment … questions we’d all like to ask but seem taboo to raise (or perhaps we’re just too chicken to admit).

I’ve been thinking on this question a few days now and I really think that any and all questions of this earthly realm will fade away into the sea of unimportance as I find myself in the realm of heavenly ones and face to face with the Lamb of God. Much like the Mercy Me song, I could see myself in such an overwhelming sense of awe that I would be speechless. Or perhaps the songs of praise and worship echoing across the heavenly realms would be so engaging my heart would be prompting me to sing.   Or perhaps so filled with thanksgiving and gratitude for God’s plan and His strength that brought endurance to the finish line, I would gratefully offer but three simple words, “Thank you Lord.” Maybe just maybe the power of that moment and being reconciled face to face with the Bridegroom would bring out the most passionate ‘I love you’ I have ever spoken.

Yes, there is much truth in the song above, I can only imagine …

When you come face to face with Jesus, what do you imagine you will say?

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Books, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I can only imagine

  1. I know what I’d like to say, but in that moment I doubt that even the most glorious words will be appropriate.

    But I’m reminded of John Wesley and George Whitefield. The two had been fastidious friends as young men, who then separated over doctrinal issues. Their feud became public and very nasty on Wesley’s part.

    When news reached London of Whitefield’s death, Wesley’s supporters cheered. Someone asked Wesley, “Do you suppose that when you get to Heaven you’ll see Whitefield there?”

    Wesley answered, “No.” The crowd roared with laughter. Then Wesley said, “He will be so near the throne that I’ll have no way to see him in all the Lord’s glory.” The room went silent.

    • bwebbjr says:

      Richard, thanks so much for the little church history lesson. While familiar with both John Wesley and George Whitefield, I did not realize that they had split over doctrinal issues. I did know they both made huge contributions to the church and revival in early America and have found things I like about both of their teachings. From Wesley’s response above, while a reconciliation may not have occurred publically … Wesley may have realized the errors of his ways and internalized a reconciliation with Whitefield. The saddest part of this little tale … that Wesley’s supporters would cheer at the prospect that Whitefield would not go to heaven. Thanks for grasping hold of this teachable moment Richard.
      Love you brother!
      Bernie

  2. jimdavenport says:

    I am certain I will be speechless as I cower in His presence while eternally thankful for His redeeming love. Jim

Leave a Reply

