Good news on CT scan #5

Must start this post with a confession:  Wednesday I went to the oncologist with a great deal of anticipation … even fear … faltering faith.  I even had a phobic sense the cancer was spreading … just so you know I do experience moments of doubt … virtually always unfounded.

But Wednesday my oncologist came into the examining room a bit late but obviously excited about my CT scan results from Monday …

First, you need to understand what my feedback after each of the prior four bi-monthly scans has been … ‘There has been no shrinkage, no growth … the cancer is stable.”  And I must admit in the midst of dealing with some of the side effects of the first ten chemo treatments, I wanted more positive results.  Yet the given results were positive results – forgive me for my ungratefulness Lord!

But today my oncologist gave me a very different reading for the prior four scans along with the scan this week.  Apparently the cancer had been decreasing / shrinking all along but the progress was hard to recognize from scan to scan.  For some reason unbeknownst to me my oncologist compared the CT scan from August 2011 with the CT scan from August 2012 … and lo and behold … when comparing those two scans … you can easily see the decreasing / shrinking of the cancerous lung nodules … also that it is not spreading to the liver.

Praise the Lord!

Apparently it is difficult to monitor the change in the cancer in the abdomen … but much easier on the lung.  And the assumption is that as goes the battle against cancer on the lungs so goes the battle against the cancer in the rest of my body … so today’s progress report was extremely good news.

Thanks for all your prayers … this is one of the BIG ways God is answering!

Thank you Lord!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Cancer & Medicine, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Good news on CT scan #5

  1. So glad! I love good news. B

  2. Glad to hear good news! No matter how positive hour attitude, no matter how you trust God, there’s always that little bit of fear at scan time. That’s ok. It just makes the good news that much sweeter. 🙂

  3. jimdavenportlibrary says:

    Bernie, this is not just good news … this is GOD news … Praise Him, Praise Him, Jesus our blessed Redeemer! Jim D.

    On Thu, Aug 16, 2012 at 7:05 AM, Believing IN Christ Jesus through ALL

  4. Carrie Morrison says:

    Bernie, praising Him with you for this news!! I thought I had commented recently, but if not, I just wanted you to know that we faithfully continue to remember you in our prayers. Thank you so much for your testimony and encouraging posts, even as you are going through what must be a difficult time over the last year+. It is easy to say “all things work together for good” – and another thing entirely to trust Him in that promise!! Encouraging you to keep the faith. HUGS to you and your family.
    -Carrie

    • bwebbjr says:

      Yes Carrie … you had commented recently and told me that your church family continues to keep me faithfully in prayers. Please pass on the news of answered prayers and offer the heartfelt thanks of me and my family to all. God has given me a testimony in the midst of all this … at times I think it is actually part of the purpose of this cancer battle… and I must write and share it. So glad to hear it is encouraging to other believers. While there have been difficult times over the past year, the power and presence of Christ Jesus in the midst has for the most part made it seem far less difficult than you would think. As always thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment … thanks for your love, care, concern and prayers.

      May you sense God’s unconditional love for you today!

      Bernie

Leave a comment