Have you ever seen the COEXIST bumper sticker?

You may have seen this bumper sticker driving down the road sometime …

According to WikipediaThe Coexist Foundation is a charitable organization based in London, England which aims to improve religious relationships between people of Islamic, Jewish and Christian faiths. The stated mission of the foundation is to “promote, encourage and support engagement between Jews, Christians and Muslims both individually and through their respective communities through dialogue, education and research.

In my mind, some of the other symbols in ‘coexist’ could suggest an agenda beyond what’s described above …

This is one of those times I’d like to follow the dictionary trail (WordWeb)

Coexist is defined as to exist peacefully (as of nations), exist together.

“Do not think that I have come to bring PEACE to the earth. I have not come to bring PEACE, but a sword.” Matthew 10:34 (ESV)

Jesus did not come to establish peace among all men on the earth … He came to restore peace between man and God and to restore peace among the children of God (Israel and Judah didn’t do too well) … an escape from God’s coming wrath.

For in him all the fullness of God was pleased to dwell, and through him to reconcile to himself all things, whether on earth or in heaven, making PEACE by the blood of his cross.  Colossians 1:19-20 (ESV)

Continuing down the old dictionary trail …

Exist is defined as have an existence, be extant, support oneself.

Extant is defined as still in existence, not extinct, destroyed or lost.  

Not lost?

For the Son of Man came to seek and TO SAVE THE LOST.  Luke 19:10 (ESV)

Not destroyed?

Enter by the narrow gate. For the gate is wide and the way is easy THAT LEADS TO DESTRUCTION, and those who enter by it are many.  For the gate is narrow and the way is hard that leads to life, and those who find it are few.  Matthew 7:13-14 (ESV)

Once again, not destroyed?

So Jesus again said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, I am the door of the sheep.  All who came before me are thieves and robbers, but the sheep did not listen to them.  I am the door. If anyone enters by me, he will be saved and will go in and out and find pasture.  THE THIEF COMES ONLY TO STEAL AND KILL AND DESTROY. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.”  John 10:7-10 (ESV)

Life is defined as the experience of being alive.

Abundantly is defined as being plentiful.

You know … it may just be me … but tolerance and coexist sure do seem to have a lot in common.

My choice is abundant life … what’s yours?

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Have you ever seen the COEXIST bumper sticker?

  1. AO says:

    Bernie….I love it…..because I love Jesus….more than life! He may the most polarizing figure in the history of the planet!

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting … we are in total agreement on all points in your comment.

      Be blessed IN Christ Jesus, His love and His words!

      Bernie

  2. ES says:

    Anyone that drives around displaying symbols of gods/practices HE would find abhorrent needs to think about their relationship with HIM.

Leave a comment