so thankful

So thankful that Christ Jesus has/is/ and will be there every step of the way in the midst of this cancer ordeal.

So thankful for the love, companionship and care of my saintly wife Sheryl throughout our marriage and specifically throughout this ordeal.

So thankful that until recent weeks I have been able to work throughout the 8 years of this cancer battle.

So thankful for the last two chemo-free years, and for all the good memories my wife, Noah and the rest of my family experienced.

So thankful that my STD insurance claim was approved for 26 weeks instead of 12 and the approval process was completed in one week rather than two.

So thankful that I have LTD insurance that may kick in at the end of the STD.

So thankful for the excellent health insurance I have that I has covered such a huge portion of my healthcare over the last 8 years.

So thankful for the excellent medical care I have received through the last 8 years through hospitals, doctors, nurses, technicians, therapists, etc.

So thankful for the excellent palliative care I am now getting through In Home Hospice care through doctors, nurses, social workers and chaplains.

So thankful that even though I am somewhat recliner-bound I can attend church each week via North Point Online.

So thankful for the love, care, calls and visits of my children, their spouses and fiancés and my grandkids.

So thankful for the love, care, calls, visits and support of my 87 yo Mom and 90 yo Dad.  So thankful they are alive and healthy and at a place they can both encourage and support me and my family.

So thankful for the love, care, calls, visits and support of my sister Beth, her husband Jack and my niece Kate.  Always there to help in every situation … what a huge, huge help and encouragement they are to our entire family!!!

So thankful for the love, care, calls, visits, texts and e-mails from my band of Christian brothers Corban, Joe, John and Jim D … so thankful to be surrounded by such spiritual giants and saints!

So thankful for the love, care, calls, visits, e-mails and cards of co-workers like Stacy, Steve, Lynn, Jamie, Alan, Janet, Vichearo and management like Linda, Madhu, Gail and Dennis … it’s nice to be valued and missed by people you have worked with for nearly 4 decades … and have them reach out to you in your time of need in such personal ways.

So thankful for all the family and friends that have reached out to my wife over her face book page.

So thankful for all the encouraging comments I have received from my online friends via this blog.

So thankful for all the prayers that are being lifted up on my behalf around the world … many days I am carried along on little more than the wings of those prayers … prayers that are answered by God in ways both big and small every day.

So thankful for the praise and worship music I watch and listen to … God seemingly lifts me up through music focused on his love, grace, mercy, character, works and promises.

So thankful for a limited diet of powerade, Kool-Aid, ensure, eggs, English muffins, Ego waffles and Orange Julius’ … the alternatives can be both worse and better.

So thankful that the weight has stabilized at a firm 185 lbs.

So thankful that yesterday, after almost 4 weeks, I could trim my beard and stop looking like a Duck Commander.

So thankful that the desire to read is returning.

So thankful that the desire to write has already returned.

So thankful that the newest sleeping pill finally helped me sleep virtually all night.

So thankful for today.

So thankful for the love of Jesus!

Give THANKS in ALL circumstances; for this is the WILL OF GOD IN Christ Jesus FOR you.  1 Thessalonians 5:18 (ESV)

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Cancer & Medicine, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to so thankful

  1. Susan Ernest says:

    Thankful to have you and your family in my circle of friends!

    • bwebbjr says:

      So thankful to have had you in our circle of friends for 34 years Susan … you have always been such a blessing to me, Sheryl and each of our kids … thank you so much for all you do!!! With all our love, Bernie

  2. So thankful for all our Saviour has done IN and through you. I thank Him for bringing you INto my life and the spiritual encouragement you share via your writing. Thank You and thank you.

    • bwebbjr says:

      So thankful for the relationship that has grown between us through our blogs and comments Richard … you are such a blessing to me in all you write and in all your prayers and encouragement. May the Lord continue to work IN And THRU each of us for His glory … for His kingdom!!!

      Abide IN Christ Jesus, His love and His words!

      Bernie

  3. jimdavenport says:

    So thankful for YOU and for the strong and loving arms of the Savior! Jim

Leave a Reply

