bringing church into the homes of the afflicted

While there are both positive and negative effects of the world of technology we now live in, to me one of the positive aspects is that many churches are making their entire services or at least their pastor’s messages available to people online via the internet. We can watch and participate in church services online and even download messages to listen to over and over again … I usually need at least twice to make sure I haven’t missed something.

Now if your church is already doing this or you have a church you already attend this way, this post really isn’t for you … and I am indeed excited that you have such a divine technological gift available to you right inside your home on your computer … these are our electronic epistles of the 21st century.

Since the end of 2014, due to my cancer my health has been degenerating and going to church has just not been an option. Imagine my delight when we found the North Point Community Church with Andy Stanley in Alpharetta, GA makes their church services available both via my Roku player (Channel: North Point Online) and online via my computer on the Internet (http://northpointonline.tv ).

On Sunday, church services are broadcast at 9, 11, 2, 6 and 10 ET, Wednesdays at 8pm ET. Then sometime on Monday the entire service is made available on their messages section for on demand viewing and participation. My wife, my grandson and I usually participate in one of the live services on Sunday morning and then sometime during the week I watch again with pad, pen and remote in hand so I can take notes … hope I don’t wear out the pause button on my Roku remote.

This year we have really enjoyed all the series and the one off messages we have participated in. Both Andy Stanley and Clay Scroggins take their teaching to a depth on topics in the Bible that many choose to avoid … and they make it so easy to understand you can’t help but wonder, ‘Why Haven’t I heard these things before?’

We have been blessed by the following series in 2015 …

  • Re:solution
  • Brand: New
  • Now What?
  • The N Commandments (current series)

And while there are four series listed, it seems to me like the last three really all go together in teaching us all how Jesus intends life within the church and into the world around us to be for His followers.

Another interesting aspect of attending North Point Online (and in person) is that baptisms are a regular part of the service as needed. We get a brief video testimony of the person being baptized followed by the baptism itself. This, along with some of the worship music, takes me and my family into some of our most emotional moments of the service.

In April, we were fortunate enough to participate in a 90 minute Night of Worship via the Roku player. While watching that again on the Roku is not an option (hint … hint) it is available on the website. A number of the praise and worship songs at the Night of Worship as well as those sung each Sunday morning are North Point original written and composed by their seemingly unlimited team of talented praise and worship leaders. We find ourselves singing the songs all week and going back to listen to the worship music multiple times during the week … sometimes queing up specific songs for our family devotional time. Like Steve Fee said, “We love singing songs to Jesus!”

We love the fact that we can also get CDs of North Point Music and continue to sing these songs to Jesus in the car and wherever we go …

Finally I am just about finished reading Deep and Wide, a book where Andy Stanley provides the history of North Point Community Church and insights and background behind how they do church making it interesting and inviting for both the churched and the un-churched.   As we participate in online church, it provides many insights into how and why they do so many things differently … and I might add more engagingly.

So thanks @nponline for bringing church into the home of the afflicted … our family is indeed blessed by this divine gift!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Cancer & Medicine, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to bringing church into the homes of the afflicted

  1. jimdavenport says:

    Bernie, we too are so thankful that our church also provides a live feed for worship services. That way we can “attend” even when we are out of town or not quite feeling up to snuff. God is using technology to spread His message and bring Glory to Him! Jim

Leave a Reply

