I take comfort that …

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of ALL comfort, who comforts us in ALL our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God. For as we share abundantly in Christ’s sufferings, so through Christ we share ABUNDANTLY in comfort too. 2 Corinthians 1:3-5 (ESV)

My wife and I have probably wept and shed more tears together and individually in recent weeks than throughout our entire 33 plus years of marriage. And many a friend and family member have done the same thing at our news and as I tell them what their presence in my life has meant to me. Also, more people than I can ever remember are lifting me up in prayer and interceding on my behalf and the behalf of my family …

I take comfort that when Jesus saw Mary and her Jewish friends weeping over the death of her brother Lazarus that …

Jesus wept. John 11:35

I take comfort that we have never shed a tear that Almighty God has not captured in a bottle and recorded in His book …

You have taken account of my wanderings; Put my tears in Your bottle. Are they not in Your book? Psalm 56:8 (NASB)

I take comfort that one day soon … a day that grows closer day by day for us all …

He will wipe away every tear from (our) eyes; and there will no longer be any death; there will no longer be any mourning, or crying, or pain Revelation 21:4 (NASB)

I take comfort that when faced with the final hours of His life … hours including His arrest, mock trial, beatings and mocking, crucifixion, death and burial that three times Jesus prayed the following …

And going a little farther he fell on his face and prayed, saying, “My Father, if it be possible, let this cup pass from me; nevertheless, not as I will, but as you will.” Matthew 26:39 (ESV)

I take comfort that both Jesus and the Holy Spirit intercede for me before God the Father …

Christ Jesus is the one who died—more than that, who was raised—who is at the right hand of God, who indeed is interceding for us. Romans 8:34 (ESV)

The Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words.   Romans 8:26 (ESV)

I take comfort that neither pain nor cancer, nor suffering nor death, nor nothing in ALL of creation can separate me from the love of God IN Christ Jesus …

For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God IN Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 8:38-39 (ESV)

I take comfort IN Christ Jesus and the love of God!!!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Cancer & Medicine, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I take comfort that …

  1. jimdavenport says:

    Bernie, there is so much comfort and peace in knowing Jesus as Savior. I am comforted in knowing that ” … the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds IN Christ Jesus.” There is comfort in knowing our ultimate eternal home is in Heaven and that Jesus promised that He will “… prepare a place” for us so we may be with Him there FOREVER! There is comfort in knowing that “I am His” and “He is mine.” And there is comfort in knowing that Jesus keeps ALL of his promises! Such an encourager you are my friend, Jim.

    • bwebbjr says:

      At one point, the title of this post was going to be ‘the little things that Jesus does to comfort me’ but I came to the conclusion that there are no little things where God is concerned … that said I truly embrace and am comforted by all the greater things you have so clearly spelled out in your comment … and yet I find comfort in the lesser … the ‘little’ things listed in this post … thanks for completing the total picture for all who might stop by and read this post Jim.

      Blessings my brother!

      Bernie

  2. Carrie says:

    Dear Bernie and Sheryl and family,
    It has truly been a blessing to follow your journey IN Him. We do weep with you in your sorrow, and yet also rejoice in the One who is able to comfort us with His own presence.

    II Corinthians 1:3-10
    Blessed be God, even the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and the God of all comfort, 4 who comforteth us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort those who are in any trouble by the comfort wherewith we ourselves are comforted by God. 5 For as the sufferings of Christ abound in us, so our consolation also aboundeth by Christ. 6 And whether we be afflicted, it is for your consolation and salvation, which is effectual in the enduring of the same sufferings which we also suffer; or whether we be comforted, it is for your consolation and salvation. 7 And our hope for you is steadfast, knowing that as ye are partakers of the sufferings, so shall ye be also of the consolation. 8 For we would not have you ignorant, brethren, of our trouble which came to us in Asia: that we were pressed beyond measure, beyond strength, insomuch that we despaired even of life. 9 But we had the sentence of death in ourselves, that we should not trust in ourselves but in God who raiseth the dead, 10 who delivered us from so great a death, and doth deliver us, in whom we trust that He will yet deliver us.

    We are continuing to pray for you and your family. Thank you for your steadfast testimony and encouraging words. Wishing you God’s richest blessings IN Christ Jesus.

    Hugs to all,
    -Carrie

    • Carrie says:

      P.S. I know you started off this post with the same verses … but I loved verses 9-10 there, especially. 😉

      • bwebbjr says:

        We can never get any passage of God’s Word too much … thanks for pointing out your favorite part of this passage. Anxiously awaiting His deliverance … Bernie

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thank you for your kind and encouraging words Carrie … thank you for your love, care, concern and prayers … thank you for traveling this journey with us and carrying us along the way through your prayers. We love you dear sister … Be blessed IN the love of Christ Jesus … our Deliverer!!! And hugs right back to you and your family!!! Bernie

Leave a Reply

