an interesting Bible study idea re Psalm 119

I encountered this little tidbit of wisdom while reading Ancient Paths: Rediscovering Delight in the Word of God by Corey Russell. Read and consider …

‘Matthew Henry, a theologian and minister of the 17th century best known for publishing a commentary on the entire Bible recounts how his father recommended he read Psalm 119 in order to cultivate a love for the Scriptures:

“Once pressing the Study of the Scriptures, he advised to take a Verse of Psalm 119 every Morning to meditate upon, and so go over the Psalm twice in the year, and that (saith he) will bring you to be in love with all the rest of the Scripture; and he often said, All grace grows, as love to the Word of God grows.”’

While I have yet to give this a try, Lord willing, it may be in my future … and I love to read that such a saint as Matthew Henry was taught by his father how to develop a love for the Scripture … one day may some or all of my children and/or grandchildren say the same thing of me … ALL glory to God!!!

And I will delight myself in thy commandments, which I have loved. Psalm 119:47 (KJV)

May it be so in my life as it was in David’s Lord!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Books, Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to an interesting Bible study idea re Psalm 119

  1. Julie Garro says:

    Hello, a couple of months ago you recommended a book, but I can’t find the comment. You wrote it had around 50+ chapters and you used it as a weekly devotional. Do you remember the book? Thanks!

    • bwebbjr says:

      Yes, I believe the book was The Indwelling Life of Christ: All of Him in All of Me by Major W. Ian Thomas … it comes with my highest recommendations Julie!

Leave a Reply

