a far superior substitute

Excruciating … what kind of pain memories does that bring to mind? For me personally on the 1-10 pain scale, excruciating pain is that pain that hits the 10 or 10 plus rating. Fortunately, I haven’t hit that too many times … but in recent years when I have, I am always reminded of what Christ endured on my behalf on the cross during the crucifixion.

And there is a good reason for that internal correlation …

With a little searching I found this description on this website (which also gives a pretty good explanation as to what happens to the body during a crucifixion)

  • The word excruciating comes from Latin excruciare, from cruciare, to crucify. It means unbearably painful, or extreme agony. The word excruciating originates from crucifixion i.e. “a pain like the pain of crucifixion”. Crucifixion is the most painful torture ever invented. It was invented by the Persians in 300 BC, and perfected by the Romans in 100 BC.

Sometimes in the midst of our reading, youth talks, sermons, etc. we encounter graphically detailed explanations of the brutality Jesus experienced at the hands of the Romans after the Sanhedrin mock trial found Jesus guilty and condemned Him to death … despite their claims to lack that authority (John 18:31).

And perhaps somewhere along the way, the author, the teacher, the speaker will proclaim that Jesus took your place … what He endured at the hands of the Roman soldiers … that was my punishment … that was your punishment … we should have been the ones mocked, beaten, crucified and killed.

And while there is certainly a great degree of truth in that … the outcome would have been totally and completely different.

For the wages of sin is death … Romans 6:23a (ESV)

You see, as sinners without Jesus … we are sentenced to death and hell. Unlike Jesus, when we die and are placed in the tomb or grave … there is no resurrection … there is no eternal life … there is no hope only condemnation … only the wrath of God and eternal separation from Him.

You see the death of Jesus was not an eye for an eye … this was not an equal substitution … the one sinless and righteous Son of Man took the place of all the condemned and sinful men of the world … past, present and future.

This was a divine and far superior substitute!

For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God. 2 Corinthians 5:21 (ESV)

He himself bore our sins in his body on the tree, that we might die to sin and live to righteousness. By his wounds you have been healed. 1 Peter 2:24 (ESV)

Thus fulfilling the desire of Father God …

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life. John 3:16 (ESV)

This Easter, as believers, the challenge is to remember from whence we came, the challenge is to remember all Jesus did to save and rescue us, to have hearts filled with love, thanksgiving and praise!

For those of you who have yet to believe IN Jesus, might I challenge you? Just a few lines above, reread and reconsider John 3:16 … consider the love that motivated God to send His only Son … consider the crucifixion Jesus endured … consider the fact that by His death and resurrection man is no longer condemned to perish but by believing IN Christ Jesus one is reconciled to God and will have eternal life.

Is all that worthy of your belief?

Blessings in this Easter season my friends … blessings!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

