just like Jesus … per the gospel of John

Yesterday I left you with the following paragraph … those words in bold are revisions I have made at the recommendation of my mentor Corban and based on personal conviction … in other words, this is a work-in-progress and should continue to be tested … as I wrestle towards the truth …

The divine and eternal Son of God, conceived in Mary’s womb by the heavenly Father via the Holy Spirit, born and incarnated as the baby Jesus, 100% man and 100% God … the last Adam … the Son of Man. What the first Adam failed to do as 100% man, despite being fully tempted the last Adam would succeed at doing as 100% man by remaining without sin and being 100% available, surrendered, and submitted to God … meaning that God was living 100% IN and THRU His only begotten Son. In His love/faith relationship with His heavenly Father … Father, Son and Holy Spirit demonstrated their unity as one. And Jesus was not without choice in this … He loved, trusted, surrendered and submitted to His heavenly Father of His own accord being fully obedient to all His Father commanded Him to do. What Jesus accomplished in this world was not a result of His eternal divinity, but as a result of the fully devoted relationship He entered into with His Father as a man. The divine presence the world observed was a result of the Father living IN and THRU Him in their mutually abiding relationship … a divine presence Jesus expected to be seen by the world in even greater magnitude as a result of Jesus living IN and THRU His followers in their mutually abiding relationship.

Today let’s look at some ways the gospel of John supports some of the conclusions above …

Jesus answered, “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless one is born of water and the Spirit, he cannot enter the kingdom of God.    That which is born of the flesh is flesh, and that which is born of the Spirit is spirit.” John 3:5-6 (ESV)

Jesus said that one must be born of water and the Spirit to enter the kingdom of God … as 100% man He then did just that …

And John bore witness: “I saw the Spirit descend from heaven like a dove, and it remained on him. I myself did not know him, but he who sent me to baptize with water said to me, ‘He on whom you see the Spirit descend and remain, this is he who baptizes with the Holy Spirit.’ And I have seen and have borne witness that this is the Son of God.” John 1:32-34 (ESV)

The words remain and abide are frequently used interchangeably by Bible translators. Remember how Jesus told the disciples that the Holy Spirit would give them the words to speak in tough circumstance …

And when they bring you to trial and deliver you over, do not be anxious beforehand what you are to say, but say whatever is given you in that hour, for it is not you who speak, but the Holy Spirit. Mark 13:11 (ESV)

Jesus also spoke the words given Him by the Holy Spirit …

For he whom God has sent utters the words of God, for he gives the Spirit without measure. John 3:34 (ESV)

Jesus told us apart from Him, we could do nothing. In the remaining passages, notice how many times Jesus says He can do nothing apart from the Father …

Apart from me you can do nothing. John 15:5 (ESV)

So Jesus said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, the Son can do nothing of his own accord, but only what he sees the Father doing. For whatever the Father does, that the Son does likewise. John 5:19 (ESV)

“I can do nothing on my own. As I hear, I judge, and my judgment is just, because I seek not my own will but the will of him who sent me. John 5:30 (ESV)

For I have not spoken on my own authority, but the Father who sent me has himself given me a commandment—what to say and what to speak. And I know that his commandment is eternal life. What I say, therefore, I say as the Father has told me.” John 12:49-50 (ESV )

Whoever does not love me does not keep my words. And the word that you hear is not mine but the Father’s who sent me. John 14:24 (ESV)

So Jesus said to them, “When you have lifted up the Son of Man, then you will know that I am he, and that I do nothing on my own authority, but speak just as the Father taught me. And he who sent me is with me. He has not left me alone, for I always do the things that are pleasing to him.” John 8:28-29 (ESV)

Remember what was written regarding pleasing God … this introduces a faith/trust connection between the Father and Son …

And without faith it is impossible to please him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him. Hebrews 11:6 (ESV)

Jesus laid down His life not out of obligation but by His own choice …

For this reason the Father loves me, because I lay down my life that I may take it up again. No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down, and I have authority to take it up again. This charge I have received from my Father.” John 10:17-18 (ESV)

And just as we are to live in a mutually indwelling relationship with Jesus, so He live in a mutually indwelling relationship with His Father …

Abide IN me, and I IN you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides IN the vine, neither can you, unless you abide IN me. John 15:4 (ESV)

If I am not doing the works of my Father, then do not believe me; but if I do them, even though you do not believe me, believe the works, that you may know and understand that the Father is IN me and I am IN the Father.” John 10:37-38 (ESV)

Do you not believe that I am IN the Father and the Father is IN me? The words that I say to you I do not speak on my own authority, but the Father who dwells IN me does his works. Believe me that I am IN the Father and the Father is IN me, or else believe on account of the works themselves. John 14:10-11 (ESV)

I do not ask for these only, but also for those who will believe IN me through their word,     that they may all be one, just as you, Father, are IN me, and I IN you, that they also may be IN us, so that the world may believe that you have sent me. John 17:20-21 (ESV)

Just as Jesus told us the world would know of His love by our obedience to his commandment, the world would know of His love for His Father by His obedience to His commands …

A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another. By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.” John 13:34-35 (ESV)

I will no longer talk much with you, for the ruler of this world is coming. He has no claim on me, but I do as the Father has commanded me, so that the world may know that I love the Father. John 14:30-31 (ESV)

Jesus kept His Father’s commandments and abides in His love just as if we keep the commandments of Jesus we will abide in His love …

If you keep my commandments, you will abide IN my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and abide IN his love. John 15:10 (ESV)

And suddenly ‘Follow Me’ seems to make a great deal more sense …

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

