the life of Jesus … then and now

Take a moment to consider this powerful passage of Scripture …

So if there is any encouragement IN CHRIST,
any comfort from love,
any participation IN THE SPIRIT,
any affection and sympathy,
complete my joy BY BEING OF THE SAME MIND,
having the same love,
being in full accord and of one mind.
Do nothing from rivalry or conceit,
but in humility count others more significant than yourselves.
Let each of you look NOT only to his own interests,
BUT also to the interests of others.
HAVE THIS MIND AMONG YOURSELVES,
WHICH IS YOURS IN CHRIST JESUS,
who, though he was in the form of God,
did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped,
BUT MADE HIMSELF NOTHING,
taking the form of a servant,
being born in the likeness of men.
And being found in human form,
he humbled himself by becoming OBEDIENT to the point of death,
even death on a cross.
Philippians 2:1-8 (ESV)

If you’re like me, you read that passage simply amazed at what Jesus did … all the time thinking, ‘I could never do that.’ And yet, isn’t that exactly what this passage of Scripture challenges us to do? Have and be of the same mind as Christ Jesus … doing all that this passage reminds us that Christ did?

And the bottom line is: I can never do that … BUT Christ Jesus can and does still do that!

I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives IN me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith IN the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. Galatians 2:20 (ESV)

The Apostle John reminded us that we should walk in the same way as Jesus … but note … to do so requires mutual INdwelling … you IN Christ and Christ IN you (John 15:4)!

By this we may know that we are IN him: whoever says he abides IN him ought to walk in the same way in which he walked. 1 John 2:5b-6 (ESV)

And as far as being of the same mind as Christ Jesus … well, that’s not something we do either … it is something we are given!

Now we have received not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit who is from God, that we might understand the things freely given us by God. And we impart this in words not taught by human wisdom but taught by the Spirit, interpreting spiritual truths to those who are spiritual. The natural person does not accept the things of the Spirit of God, for they are folly to him, and he is not able to understand them because they are spiritually discerned. The spiritual person judges all things, but is himself to be judged by no one. “For who has understood the mind of the Lord so as to instruct him?” But we have the mind of Christ. 1 Corinthians 2:12-16 (ESV)

The answer to the question, “For who has understood the mind of the Lord so as to instruct him?’ is revealed throughout the above passage … the Holy Spirit. And every born again believer has been given the INdwelling presence of the Spirit of God.

The conclusion of this post is quite simple …

The life Jesus lived in the flesh two millennia ago is the same life He wants to live IN and THRU you and me in the here-and-now.

Lord, as I read the Philippians passage above, I see so many things I struggle with but the key obstacle which probably resolves all others is making myself nothing … Help me Lord to deny self and surrender all to You … surrender all of me and submit to all of You!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the life of Jesus … then and now

  1. jimdavenport says:

    When ALL of HIM abides in us and ALL of us abides in HIM, there is NO room for Satan to lead our flesh astray! My heart’s desire is that HIS will becomes my will. Lord help me to be the vessel that YOU want me to be, allowing for the total indwelling of the Holy Spirit in my life. Amen and amen.

Leave a Reply

