the price of our certificate of debt

When you were dead in your transgressions and the uncircumcision of your flesh, He made you alive together with Him, having forgiven us all our transgressions, having canceled out the certificate of debt consisting of decrees against us, which was hostile to us; and He has taken it out of the way, having nailed it to the cross. Colossians 2:13-14 (NASB)

Take a moment to consider Jesus dying on the cross holding your own personal certificate of debt …

Then take a moment to consider Jesus dying on the cross covered by billions of personal certificates of debt …

IMHO … that certainly goes a long way in explaining the darkness from noon to 3pm during the crucifixion of Jesus … for a brief 3 hours in eternity … the darkness of the sin of ALL mankind past, present, and future overshadowed the very Light of the world as He took our place on the cross …

Now from the sixth hour darkness fell upon all the land until the ninth hour. Matthew 27:45 (NASB)

While the crucifixion was embraced by darkness, the resurrection … the Son rise … was embraced by the light of a new day … the Light of life … PRAISE GOD!!!

Then Jesus again spoke to them, saying, “I am the Light of the world; he who follows Me will not walk in the darkness, but will have the Light of life.” John 8:12 (NASB)

The death of Jesus on the cross is the greatest display of both love and obedience the world will ever know.

But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us. Much more then, having now been justified by His blood, we shall be saved from the wrath of God through Him. For if while we were enemies we were reconciled to God through the death of His Son, much more, having been reconciled, we shall be saved by His life. Romans 5:8-10 (NASB)

And as believers, we are absolutely inseparable from the immeasurable love of Christ Jesus …

But in all these things we overwhelmingly conquer through Him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor any other created thing, will be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 8:37-39 (NASB)

For those who might say, the Father made Jesus do this … consider the following …

“For this reason the Father loves Me, because I lay down My life so that I may take it again. No one has taken it away from Me, but I lay it down on My own initiative. I have authority to lay it down, and I have authority to take it up again. This commandment I received from My Father.” John 10:17-18 (NASB)

Jesus laid down His life on the cross of His own initiative … at any moment … any moment He could have taken it back up. I don’t know about you but through the arrest, the mock trial, the beatings and six hours of crucifixion … well, to say laying down His life would have been a far more difficult option than the easy out of taking His life back up is probably the understatement of eternity … only the love of Jesus … only the love of Jesus!

But then there was also the matter of obedience … I love the King James Version of this next passage of Scripture …

Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus: Who, being in the form of God, thought it not robbery to be equal with God: But made himself of no reputation, and took upon him the form of a servant, and was made in the likeness of men: And being found in fashion as a man, he humbled himself, and became obedient unto death, even the death of the cross. Philippians 2:5-8 (KJV)

Both love and obedience led Jesus through the death of the cross … but take special note. The obedience of Jesus was not to the laws and commandments … sometimes we tend to make obedience more about what we do than Who we are obeying.   For Jesus, first and foremost His obedience was to His Father and what He commanded Jesus to do and say …

“I will not speak much more with you, for the ruler of the world is coming, and he has nothing in Me; but so that the world may know that I love the Father, I do exactly as the Father commanded Me. Get up, let us go from here. John 14:30-31 (NASB)

So that the world may know that Jesus loved the Father, He did exactly as the Father commanded Him …

So that the world may know that I love Jesus, I do exactly as Jesus commands me … by the power of the Holy Spirit.

“If you keep My commandments, you will abide in My love; just as I have kept My Father’s commandments and abide in His love.” John 15:10 (NASB)

Yes, that certificate of debt had a price … and Jesus paid that price.

Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit who is IN you, whom you have from God, and that you are not your own? For you have been bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body. 1 Corinthians 6:19-20 (NASB)

PAID IN FULL … thank you Jesus … may you be glorified IN and THRU me!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to the price of our certificate of debt

  1. jimdavenport says:

    What a powerful post Bernie. Jesus paid the debt that He did not owe for me, for you, for us all. A debt that we could never pay. The Indwelling of His spirit within us … may He be glorified!! Jim

Leave a Reply

