to understand the abundant life

For me, the journey to understand the abundant life has its beginning with the shepherd boy David and his anointing …

anointchoose by divine intervention, administer an oil or ointment to; often in a religious ceremony of blessing

So he sent and brought him (David) in. Now he was ruddy, with beautiful eyes and a handsome appearance. And the LORD said, “Arise, anoint him; for this is he.”  Then Samuel took the horn of oil and anointed him in the midst of his brothers; and the Spirit of the LORD came mightily upon David from that day forward. And Samuel arose and went to Ramah. 1 Samuel 16:12-13 (NASB)

While Samuel anointed David with oil, the Lord anointed him with the Holy Spirit.  Abundance in David’s life is revealed by his overflowing cup …

 The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not want.

He makes me lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside quiet waters.

He restores my soul; He guides me in the paths of righteousness For His name’s sake.

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil, for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You have anointed my head with oil; MY CUP OVERFLOWS.

Surely goodness and lovingkindness will follow me all the days of my life, And I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever. Psalm 23 (NASB) … A Psalm of David

abundancethe property of a more than adequate quantity or supply

The question that remains: an adequate quantity or supply of what?

So Jesus said to them again, “Truly, truly, I say to you, I am the door of the sheep.  All who came before Me are thieves and robbers, but the sheep did not hear them.  I am the door; if anyone enters through Me, he will be saved, and will go in and out and find pasture.  The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I came that they may have life, and have it abundantly.  I am the good shepherd; the good shepherd lays down His life for the sheep. John 10:7-10 (NASB)

See the Psalm 23 similarities?

Jesus is the good shepherd …

If one enters through Him, he will be saved, he will go in and out and find pasture … green pasture …

The Christian life overflows …

Yet … there seems to be a great deal of confusion and misunderstanding surrounding the abundant life.

Oftentimes we seem to be expecting an abundant life of the world rather than the abundant life found IN Christ Jesus.

And it all starts on a foundation built on sand … we think we already have life … we fail to realize we are dead men walking

And you were dead in your trespasses and sins Ephesians 2:1 (NASB)

The John 10 passage above is not about adding abundance to our life … we are dead.  Reread that passage.  Here is what I see … As the door, as the good shepherd; Jesus lays down His life to save His sheep from death and destruction INto life … abundant life.

For the gospel has for this purpose been preached even to those who are dead, that though they are judged in the flesh as men, they may live in the spirit according to the will of God.  1 Peter 4:6 (NASB)

a good place to pause (Lord willing, to be continued) …

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

