the gospel of Jesus Christ … plus

May the word of God speak to your heart … either for the first time … or possibly as a much needed reminder …

“Be still, and know that I am God.” Psalms 46:10 (ESV)

FOR GOD SO LOVED ME AND YOU …

For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes IN Him shall not perish, but have eternal life.” John 3:16 (NASB)

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through Me.” John 14:6 (NASB)

“Let it be known to all of you and to all the people of Israel, that by the name of Jesus Christ the Nazarene, whom you crucified, whom God raised from the dead … He is the stone which was rejected by you, the builders, but which became the chief corner stone. And there is salvation in no one else; for there is no other name under heaven that has been given among men by which we must be saved.” Acts 4:10-12 (NASB)

Now I make known to you, brethren, the gospel which I preached to you, which also you received, in which also you stand, by which also you are saved, if you hold fast the word which I preached to you, unless you believed in vain. For I delivered to you as of first importance what I also received, that Christ died for our sins according to the Scriptures, and that He was buried, and that He was raised on the third day according to the Scriptures. 1 Corinthians 15:1-4 (NASB)

JESUS SENDS HIS DISCIPLES (past, present and future) OUT TO PROCLAIM THE GOSPEL TO THE ENDS OF THE EARTH …

And Jesus came up and spoke to them, saying, “All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth. Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” Matthew 28:18-20 (NASB)

WHAT MUST ONE DO?

Peter said to them, “Repent, and each of you be baptized in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins; and you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit. For the promise is for you and your children and for all who are far off, as many as the Lord our God will call to Himself.” And with many other words he solemnly testified and kept on exhorting them, saying, “Be saved from this perverse generation!” Acts 2:38-40 (NASB)

HOW IS ONE BORN AGAIN?

Jesus answered and said to him, “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless one is born again he cannot see the kingdom of God.” Nicodemus *said to Him, “How can a man be born when he is old? He cannot enter a second time into his mother’s womb and be born, can he?” Jesus answered, “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless one is born of water and the Spirit he cannot enter into the kingdom of God. That which is born of the flesh is flesh, and that which is born of the Spirit is spirit. Do not be amazed that I said to you, ‘You must be born again.’ The wind blows where it wishes and you hear the sound of it, but do not know where it comes from and where it is going; so is everyone who is born of the Spirit.” John 3:3-8 (NASB)

THE BORN AGAIN BELIEVER IS NOW ALIVE TO GOD IN CHRIST JESUS!

Or do you not know that all of us who have been baptized INto Christ Jesus have been baptized into His death? Therefore we have been buried with Him through baptism into death, so that as Christ was raised from the dead through the glory of the Father, so we too might walk in newness of life. For if we have become united with Him in the likeness of His death, certainly we shall also be in the likeness of His resurrection, knowing this, that our old self was crucified with Him, in order that our body of sin might be done away with, so that we would no longer be slaves to sin; for he who has died is freed from sin. Now if we have died with Christ, we believe that we shall also live with Him, knowing that Christ, having been raised from the dead, is never to die again; death no longer is master over Him. For the death that He died, He died to sin once for all; but the life that He lives, He lives to God. Even so consider yourselves to be dead to sin, but ALIVE to God IN Christ Jesus. Romans 6:3-11 (NASB)

SEEK THE MUTUAL ABIDING PRESENCE OF JESUS …

“Abide IN Me, and I IN you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself unless it abides in the vine, so neither can you unless you abide IN Me. I am the vine, you are the branches; he who abides IN Me and I IN him, he bears much fruit, for apart from Me you can do nothing.” John 15:4-5 (NASB)

FOR JESUS SO LOVED ME AND YOU…

“A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another, even as I have loved you, that you also love one another. By this all men will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another.” John 13:34-35 (NASB)

OUR HOPE AND INHERITANCE IS FOUND IN CHRIST JESUS …

IN (Christ Jesus) we have obtained an inheritance, having been predestined according to the purpose of him who works all things according to the counsel of his will, so that we who were the first to hope IN Christ might be to the praise of his glory. IN him you also, when you heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation, and believed IN him, were sealed with the promised Holy Spirit, who is the guarantee of our inheritance until we acquire possession of it, to the praise of his glory. Ephesians 1:11-14 (ESV)

TO THE PRAISE OF HIS GLORY INDEED!

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the gospel of Jesus Christ … plus

  1. Julie Garro says:

    I always love your posts. This is well said. Amen.

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thanks for the encouraging comment Julie.

      Greater is He who is the Author of these words than me who simply cut, pasted and published … the Holy Spirit led me to these passages over a couple of days … passages I certainly would have never put together … but as a finished post seem so convicting and encouraging!

      Abide IN Christ Jesus, His love and His words dear sister!

      Bernie

Leave a Reply

