the heart’s desire of a Christian blogger

Lots of subscribers, likes, stars, comments, reblogs, and social media sharing … yes, that may be a desire and in certainly some cases the heart’s desire … but in many cases, pursuing those statistics can simply be desires of the blogger’s ego and pride … what I might call the ‘look at me’ attitude … and believe me I am guilty and intimately familiar with that attitude.

Now there are certainly exceptions to that viewpoint … when a portion of those statistics lead to genuine connection and engagement with other people … that is something to be truly treasured. And through the years the Lord has indeed blessed me with a dozen or so of those type relationships. I have shared a face-to-face meal with a fellow blogger who was traveling through Georgia. I connected with a soldier who was serving in Afghanistan and later honored me by asking me to edit his first book transcript. I have made connections with people going through the same struggles with their prodigal. I have connected with folks struggling with the same medical challenges. I have connected with people of like mind and spirit regarding religion, faith and spirituality. Hey, I have even reconnected with friends that time and/or miles had separated me from. Realized engaged connections are indeed a blessing.

Or what about those moments, when a reader half way around the world is blown away by the timing of your post and how it specifically speaks to them in the midst of their circumstances right now … only God … only God … only God … but how amazing to realize He has worked through you to touch someone else.

As a Christian blogger, are there some special encounters with your readers you would like to share?

But let’s be honest … those encounters amount to but a small percentage of all the people (and search engines) that view your pages.   In 2014, I published 122 posts (a little low by my standards), my blog was viewed 13,025 times by people living in 143 different countries (and that doesn’t count the views via e-mail subscriptions, WP Reader, or the leave-no-footprint surfers) resulting in about 190 comments (excluding my replies).

So for me, a very conservation estimate might be 13-15,000 views last year with no feedback whatsoever … what is truly the heart’s desire of a Christian blogger for those folks?

Perhaps in some small way, God is working through us to accomplish the following …

“This gospel of the kingdom shall be preached in the whole world as a testimony to all the nations, and then the end will come. Matthew 24:14 (NASB)

Or maybe in the truth we write, we are showing the love of God …

Little children, let us not love with word or with tongue, but in deed and truth. 1 John 3:18 (NASB)

And certainly we hope that God is sending His word out through us …

So will My word be which goes forth from My mouth; It will not return to Me empty, Without accomplishing what I desire, And without succeeding in the matter for which I sent it. Isaiah 55:11 (NASB)

Because remember the word of God is not simply words like you might find in a novel or a history book … the word of God is living and active …

For the word of God is living and active and sharper than any two-edged sword, and piercing as far as the division of soul and spirit, of both joints and marrow, and able to judge the thoughts and intentions of the heart. Hebrews 4:12 (NASB)

As a Christian blogger, what is the desire of your heart for what you write and who might read it?

And maybe … just maybe … the greatest work God is doing through the posts we write … is actually IN us.   There is so much the Holy Spirit teaches and reveals to us in the midst of our writing experience … so much more than we can ever share in a simple post.

Thanks for reading … thanks for writing … thanks for connecting … thanks for engaging!

Abide IN Christ Jesus, His love and His words my friends … abide!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to the heart’s desire of a Christian blogger

  1. Of late I’ve been reading biographies of some of the “great” missionaries of the past several hundred years. It’s amazing to read and discover that most of them preached to their dying day without but a handful of converts. Even the man considered “Africa’s Greatest Missionary” had fewer converts than I have fingers and toes. Yet God used their preaching for His purpose. Reminds me of Isaiah 55:11 and that when God’s Word goes out, it accomplishes the purpose for which He (not me) sends it.

    Your post is a good reminder to us of our motivations in serving Him. “The fire will test each one’s work, of what sort it is. If anyone’s work which he has built on it endures, he will receive a reward. If anyone’s work is burned, he will suffer loss; but he himself will be saved, yet so as through fire” (1 Cor 3:13-15). Thank God for the fire and His gracious salvation despite our shoddy building!

    • bwebbjr says:

      Oh Richard, there are so many testimonies in the kingdom of God through the ages like the one you shared. I am always encouraged by the story of ‘My Utmost for His Highest Devotional’. Oswald Chambers did not write and publish this fine devotional while alive, but once he had gone to be with the Lord his wife lovingly went through his works, put together the collection and published a devotional that is now a classic.

      Thanks for your encouraging comment Richard!

      May we indeed walk in the works prepared beforehand by the Lord to withstand the fire!

      Bernie

  2. Carrie says:

    Bernie I’m so glad you’re back to writing … even though I haven’t had much to write back! 🙂 We do continue to remember you in our prayers – and also in praising God with you for his answered prayer in your life. You have been an encouragement to me – and not just to me but my family and our church family as well. Praying the Lord’s richest blessings on you as you continue to serve him (in writing, teaching, encouraging, and … everything!).

    • bwebbjr says:

      So very, very good to hear from you Carrie … it is indeed good to have the divine inspiration and conviction to write. Please say hello to both your family and church family and thank them so much for all their prayers … answered in so may ways. Thanks for stopping by and leaving such a loving and encouraging comment.

      May you and yours be blessed in the abiding presence of Christ Jesus and His love!

      Bernie

  3. jimdavenport says:

    I never cease to be amazed as to how God uses our frail efforts to further His message. As a Christian blogger my prayer is that through my ramblings He will be glorified and I will be minimized. It is about HIM and not me! To God be the glory! Jim

Leave a Reply

