a little motion in my devotion inspiration

We are currently between church homes (prayers for direction appreciated) but in the interim we have found a channel on our ROKU player (also website http://northpointonline.tv/) for Northpoint Community Church (Pastor Andy Stanley) where we can worship live on Sunday mornings from home in song and sermon.

The current message series is titled ‘RE:SOLUTION’ and it is not what the title and the time of the year might suggest.  The final message in the four part series is this weekend.  They have a website with the message videos and small group discussion PDFs at http://resolutionseries.org/ if you’re interested.

You might be wondering where I’m going with this …

Well, in the last 24 hours I have come to realize that what I have written this week is really the Holy Spirit convicting and teaching me in conjunction with this series … a few highlights …

Scripture for first 3 weeks:  Nehemiah 1:1-11, Luke 14:25-27, Mark 8:34-35, 1 Corinthian 13:1-3

A few key points:

Devotion to God is measured in terms of devotion to others (wk 1).

Love for God is equated to love for others (wk 1).

The essence of following Jesus is self-denial not self-improvement (wk 2).

To “deny yourself” is to say “no” to you so you can say “yes” to something bigger than you (wk 2).

As Christians, we tend to substitute devotion (the vertical) for action (the horizontal) (wk 3).

Sometimes we are more content with making a point than making a difference (wk 3).

Put some motion in your devotion (wk 3).

Your devotion to God is authenticated by your love for others (wk 3).

The key questions for the series:  What breaks your heart?  What should I do about it?

The whole concept of love, devotion, authentication and motion has really pricked my heart this week and has me wrestling in earnest … as you might have noticed.

So that’s a little bit of background as to what is inspiring me this week.  The caution for me is making sure that any ‘motion I put in my devotion’ is Holy Spirit driven and not a work of the flesh.  I’m afraid I am quite the expert at doing works in the flesh for God … what I’m a real novice at is Spirit driven works.

Have your way and your will Lord … have your way and your will!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to a little motion in my devotion inspiration

  1. jimdavenport says:

    Bernie, as Major Ian Thomas so aptly put it “… character does not change for the better by improving the flesh, but only by allowing it (the flesh) to be replaced by the Holy Spirit.”

    Jim

Leave a Reply

