a question of foundation

It’s been four months of silence here on the blog … probably the longest dry spell I have experienced in my nearly 11 years of blogging here and on Xanga.   But all is well … and over the last few nights for the first time in months, my reading has contained a message I was convicted to write about. So here we go …

In 1 Corinthians 6:19, the Lord reveals that our individual bodies are a temple. Then in 2 Corinthians 5:1, we discover that our bodies are an earthly tent … ‘our house the Scripture reveals.

If a house is divided against itself, that house will not be able to stand.” Mark 3:25 (NASB)

I am firmly convicted that oftentimes, I am indeed that house divided … there are times I desire to have my needs and wants met by what the world has to offer … while at other times I desire for my needs and wants to be fulfilled by Christ Jesus. Reluctantly, I must confess the lord of my world is me … not Christ Jesus. Christ Jesus does NOT always have that place of preeminence in everything as God expects (Colossians 1:18 ESV)

“Why do you call Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ and do not do what I say? Everyone who comes to Me and hears My words and acts on them, I will show you whom he is like: he is like a man building a house, who dug deep and laid a foundation on the rock; and when a flood occurred, the torrent burst against that house and could not shake it, because it had been well built. But the one who has heard and has not acted accordingly, is like a man who built a house on the ground without any foundation; and the torrent burst against it and immediately it collapsed, and the ruin of that house was great.” Luke 6:46-49 (NASB)

Does anyone else out there struggle with the war of inner division and lordship in their lives?

Oh Lord, my prayer is that my life will become less of a question about division and more a matter of full devotion to your lordship and preeminence in the coming days, weeks, months and year. May You and You alone be not only the Rock of my salvation but also the Rock of my foundation. And that will only be possible by the sanctifying and transformational work of your Holy Spirit in my life … withIN me … may I become more surrendered and more submitted to His conviction, His teaching and His leading … ALL to the glory of God! In Jesus name. AMEN

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to a question of foundation

  1. Butch Dean says:

    Welcome back, Bernie.

  2. jasonlovelace says:

    Great to hear from you again, brother! I, too, often feel divided, and must ask the LORD God to help reunite me. Well stated and written…

  3. jimdavenport says:

    Bernie, see … I told you it was just temporary! God has given you so much insight into His Word … You have NO choice but to share. Our dual/split personality is so evident to our Lord. We might be able to conceal it from our fellow man but God knows us … And in spite of us … He still loves us. Love you brother. See you Friday usual place, usual time. Jim

  4. Julie Garro says:

    so glad to have you back!

Leave a Reply

