when did God choose Jesus to die and live for me

Some people believe that Jesus is Plan B and that God did not choose Jesus to die for the sins of man until after Adam and Eve had sinned in the Garden of Eden … as if God was surprised by Adam and Eve’s choice. If that was the case, we could just toss out omniscience and omnipresence as attributes of God, couldn’t we?

There was always only one predetermined plan …

“Men of Israel, listen to these words: Jesus the Nazarene, a man attested to you by God with miracles and wonders and signs which God performed through Him in your midst, just as you yourselves know–this Man, delivered over by the predetermined plan and foreknowledge of God, you nailed to a cross by the hands of godless men and put Him to death. Acts 2:22-23 (NASB)

What happened to Jesus in route to and on the cross was predestined by God according to His purpose …

“For truly in this city there were gathered together against Your holy servant Jesus, whom You anointed, both Herod and Pontius Pilate, along with the Gentiles and the peoples of Israel, to do whatever Your hand and Your purpose predestined to occur.” Acts 4:27-28 (NASB)

And God’s plan and purpose called not only for the cross … but for the summing up of ALL thing IN Christ in the fullness of times …

IN Him we have redemption through His blood, the forgiveness of our trespasses, according to the riches of His grace which He lavished on us. In all wisdom and insight He made known to us the mystery of His will, according to His kind intention which He purposed IN Him with a view to an administration suitable to the fullness of the times, that is, the summing up of all things IN Christ, things in the heavens and things on the earth.  Ephesians 1:7-10 (NASB)

The Father loved the Son before the foundation of the world …

Father, I desire that they also, whom You have given Me, be with Me where I am, so that they may see My glory which You have given Me, for You loved Me before the foundation of the world. John 17:24 (NASB)

Jesus and His mission was foreknown before the foundation of the world …

If you address as Father the One who impartially judges according to each one’s work, conduct yourselves in fear during the time of your stay on earth; knowing that you were not redeemed with perishable things like silver or gold from your futile way of life inherited from your forefathers, but with precious blood, as of a lamb unblemished and spotless, the blood of Christ. For He was foreknown before the foundation of the world, but has appeared in these last times for the sake of you who through Him are believers IN God, who raised Him from the dead and gave Him glory, so that your faith and hope are IN God. 1 Peter 1:17-21 (NASB)

For the sake of you who through Christ Jesus are believers IN God …

A plan and a purpose predetermined before the foundation of the world …

For the sake of you and me …

WOW!

That said … let’s close with these words of Jesus …

For this reason the Father loves Me, because I lay down My life so that I may take it again.  No one has taken it away from Me, but I lay it down on My own initiative. I have authority to lay it down, and I have authority to take it up again. This commandment I received from My Father.  John 10:17-18 (NASB)

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to when did God choose Jesus to die and live for me

  1. You’re a brave man to express a truth often neglected and even despised! That word “predestined” scares many, but just as the Father predestined that Jesus would die to bring about redemption of a not-yet-fallen race, the Scripture also says He also predestined other things. We prefer to think that we are the determiners of all things – including salvation – in His universe.

    • bwebbjr says:

      One of those things I speak boldly about … and I make a point of sharing the Scripture … regardless of what men believe, it is critical that what we teach is grounded in the words of God Himself … not our interpretations. Usually posts on creation vs. evolution, predestination, predetermination get me in trouble with someone … perhaps at the same time a glimpse of the truth is getting in. And be careful … you are giving readers a glimpse as to where I am headed in the next post. Thanks for the encouraging comment Richard. Be blessed IN Christ Jesus brother! Bernie

Leave a Reply

