why the creation vs evolution argument matters

This may seem an odd way to begin but stick with me …

My father established our relationship when I was seven years old.  He looked at me and said, “You know, I brought you in this world, and I can take you out.  And it don’t make no difference to me, I’ll make another one look just like you.”

Bill Cosby – “Himself” album

After you’ve taken a few moments to remember the first time you heard Bill Cosby (the original album was released in 1983) say that and laughed about it, consider this …

His father decided than since he brought his child into the world, it was his right to have expectations of that child, and also his right to take away the very life he had given that child if he did not live according to those expectations …

Sound familiar?

(Note: When I speak of evolution, I am speaking of the concept that theorizes but never proves that the universe has randomly evolved over billions of years out of nothing and that within that imagined process man has evolved from other species … actually through multiple species … while certain others of those exact  same species were unexplainably left behind ‘AS IS’)

Evolution would tell us we are fatherless … we are here by a sequence of random events …

Creation tells us we have a Father … we are here as an act of love according to His plan, purpose and will …

Evolution would tell us since we are here by a sequence of random events; we are free to do whatever we want …

Creation tells us since we are here as an act of love according to the plan, purpose and will of the heavenly Father; we should want to do what He wants …

Evolution would tell us that we are free to do whatever we want without concern for others …

Creation tells us we are free to do what God wants with concern for others … our neighbors

Evolution would tell us to love self …

Creation tells us to love God and love one another as He loves us …

Evolution would tell us “You are your own”

Creation tells us “You are not your own”

Evolution is a scheme of the devil intended to distract us from God …

Creation is the truth of Scripture intended to attract us to God …

See the dilemma?

The creation account in the first chapter of the first book of the Bible tells us that …

God created man in His own image, in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them.  Genesis 1:27 (NASB)

Now for you literalists who might say, ‘That’s just describing Adam and Eve’, remember Adam and Eve did not come from the womb as you read the following …

For You formed my inward parts; You wove me in my mother’s womb. I will give thanks to You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Wonderful are Your works, And my soul knows it very well.  My frame was not hidden from You, When I was made in secret, And skillfully wrought in the depths of the earth; Your eyes have seen my unformed substance; And in Your book were all written The days that were ordained for me, When as yet there was not one of them.  Psalm 139:13-16 (NASB)

The challenge then for the natural man is to discover he was made for a divine purpose … and that the life he lives is one in which he is ensnared and enslaved to his flesh, his pride and the devil …

The Lord’s bond-servant must not be quarrelsome, but be kind to all, able to teach, patient when wronged, with gentleness correcting those who are in opposition, if perhaps God may grant them repentance leading to the knowledge of the truth, and they may come to their senses and escape from the snare of the devil, having been held captive by him to do his will.  2 Timothy 2:24-26 (NASB)

We need to realize the status quo is not what was intended … it is a deception.

The truth is that the ‘Father who brought us in this world’ is waiting and willing to give us life and bring us into His kingdom!

Evolution vs. Creation … it’s foundational to what we worship and believe!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, origins aka evolution vs. creationsim, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to why the creation vs evolution argument matters

  1. Pingback: what creation has to do with Jesus | Believing IN Christ Jesus through ALL things

Leave a Reply

