Real Men DO Eat Quiche … and make it too!

About four months ago I received the Spring 2014 edition of NE Georgia Living Magazine and it had an article about quiche …  offering several recipes.  To this novice breakfast chef, the broccoli quiche recipe looked pretty simple and straightforward so I gave it a try … a decision that has pleased my wife greatly.  Over the last few months, I have experimented with adding ingredients and different spices until I arrived at the current recipe.

DSC01092

INGREDIENTS:

1 frozen deep dish pie shell

4-5 ounces frozen broccoli florets
(Thaw and drain all the excess moisture off the broccoli and
then chop into small pieces discarding the stalks – I usually buy
the 14 oz bag at 
the grocery store, then split it equally into three
ziploc bags … 
using one, while putting the other two in the
freezer for the 
next quiche).

Sliced mushrooms to taste … I use the little jar from Green
Giant – it lasts through several quiche

Chopped onions to taste

Diced ham to taste … I buy the vacuum packed pre-diced (not
cubed) package of ham at the grocery store … the little pack will
usually last for 
3 or more quiche.

¼ lb shredded Swiss cheese

2 tbsp melted butter

3 eggs

1 cup half and half

Mrs. Dash – Garlic and Herb (or salt and pepper) to taste

Optional ingredients: Feel free to substitute crumbled bacon
or sausage for the diced ham, can also add chopped peppers

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

Distribute broccoli evenly across the bottom of the pie shell.  Then top with mushrooms, onions and the diced ham to taste.  Then season with the Mrs. Dash.  Evenly spread the shredded Swiss cheese over the other ingredients.  Beat eggs, half and half, melted butter and Mrs. Dash together.  Pour mixture evenly over broccoli, cheese, etc.  Then I usually sprinkle a bit more Mrs. Dash on top of it all.

Bake for 45 minutes.  I usually move it to the lower rack with 10 minutes to go to keep quiche from crusting.  Remove from oven and let cool for 10 minutes.

My final experiment with this recipe occurred tonight.  For a couple of months I have been considering using sriracha on my slice of the quiche to spice things up a bit.  So after I put tonight’s quiche in the oven it was off to Publix to buy a bottle of Texas Pete’s Sriracha Cha! hot chili sauce.

So I cut my slice of quiche into bite size pieces and the final experiment began … the trick was getting the right amount of sriracha on each bite … too much and I spent a few minutes in a fire drill dousing the flames with milk … the perfect amount ended up being a drop per bite … and perfection!

If you happen to try the recipe, would love to hear about it.  If you take this recipe and personalize it, I would love to hear about it.  If you have a personal quiche recipe you recommend, please leave a link or the recipe itself.

Happy cooking my friends … happy cooking!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Recipes & Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Real Men DO Eat Quiche … and make it too!

  1. jimdavenport says:

    Bernie, will give it a try … Without the hot sauce, that is! Jim

  2. Susan says:

    There are healthier alternatives to this recipes (sorry Bernie…it’s the nurse and cancer survivor in me that makes me comment this way 🙂

    • bwebbjr says:

      I understand and would expect nothing less … actually I do expect your comments … please feel free to post links or the recipes themselves for the better alternatives anytime … Thank you dear sister!!! Bernie

  3. Cindy says:

    Sounds yummy Daddy! I would probably try it with the bacon. Jamey said, “Let’s try it!” Off to the kitchen…

Leave a Reply

