a LEGO object lesson

This past weekend the touring LEGO KidsFest was in Atlanta … we had been thinking about going for months but never bought tickets.  Believe it or not, with less than 5 days to go I won 4 tickets via a twitter contest so my wife and I took two of the grandkids.  I took over a 100 pictures … if you’d like to take a look at the photo album on Picasa, click here … quite frankly it was brick pandemonium!

So afterwards I had the brilliant idea that I would pick up a small LEGO set, have my grandson Noah put it together and display it on my desk at work along with my family pictures and inspirational reminders.

So Tuesday I set off for the LEGO store … yes, LEGO store and its less than two blocks from the office.  As I began shopping, I was pretty certain I would end up with something from the TMNT series (hey, I even researched the characteristics of each Turtle to make sure I got one representative of my character and interests … well, as much as possible … since I’m not a ninja), the Star Wars series or maybe the Creator series.  But what I found … no, what I was led to … was so much better.

So after lunch Wednesday, my LEGO master builder set about his appointed task paying close attention to the directions (Yes, I have failed to indoctrinate him to the macho mantra ‘When all else fails, follow directions’)

DSC01958Within moments, the construction was complete.

DSC01959The LEGO set I was led to was ‘The Wizard Battle’ from ‘The Lord of the Rings’ (#79005).  Check out the completed project and I will explain the object lesson …

DSC01964

To me, this battle between the wizards Saruman the White and Gandalf the Grey is a reminder of the battle between evil and good … the battle that occurred between Satan and Jesus in His earthly walk.  I won’t claim to know what Tolkien intended … but Scripture reveals that ‘Satan disguises himself as an angel of light’ (2 Cor. 11:14) … reflected by Saruman the White and his staff of light.    At the same time, Gandalf the Grey in his simple clothes and wooden staff represents Jesus in the midst of His earthly walk.  Also, note the throne in the background … at one point I thought this was suggestive of the battle taking place before the throne of God but a little Bible research revealed something else about the black throne … the throne of darkness … Saruman’s throne.  In Isaiah 14:13-14, we are reminded that Lucifer said ‘I will ascend into heaven, I will exalt my throne above the stars of God: I will sit also upon the mount of the congregation, in the sides of the north: I will ascend above the heights of the clouds; I will be like the most High.’ Also, in Revelation 2:13, Jesus declares that He knows where Satan’s throne is … where Satan dwells’. ‘The Wizard Battle’ model reflects the fact … the truth … that in the earthly walk of Jesus, He brought the battle into the domain of darkness … a domain ruled by the ‘prince of the power of the air’ (Ephesians 2:2).

Let me reiterate this is a personal interpretation … a personal reminder.

To most folks, it’s just a toy …

But to me … it’s a LEGO object lesson.

Thank you Lord!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Books, Movies & Music, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to a LEGO object lesson

  1. Sandy B. says:

    Insightful! 🙂

  2. If you think about the teaching ministry of Jesus, He turned so many every-day life experiences into parables of the kingdom of God. A Lego kit, a stick of deodorant, a dirty sock … all can teach us lessons of the Christian life – confirming the truths of Scripture – if we are just looking.

Leave a Reply

