this little light of mine …

This little light of mine,
I’m gonna let it shine.
This little light of mine,
I’m gonna let it shine.
This little light of mine,
I’m gonna let it shine.
Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine.

(for complete lyrics see this article on Wikipedia)

As I’m sure you’ve noticed, some times the Holy Spirit uses the words and teachings of the saints to draw me into spiritual truths … at bedtime last night, He did that once again as I was reading Billy Graham’s latest book, The Reason for My Hope: Salvation (BTW a kindle bargain as of this writing at $3.99 USA) …

“The cross throws a great searchlight on the evil of the world.  We don’t want the searchlight of the cross examining our hearts, telling us that we’re guilty before God.  The blood of Jesus convicts, but it also cleanses.  The blood of Jesus brings reproach, but it also brings redemption.  The blood of Jesus frustrates but it also brings forgiveness to the sinner.  The blood of Jesus cancels God’s judgment on the repentant heart.”

WOW! WOW! WOW! As I retype those words this morning I am struck by the power and truth found within them.

Last night these words caused me to recall a few passages of Scripture and wrestle with a question off and on all night … first, the passages of Scripture.

“For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life.  For God did not send the Son into the world to judge the world, but that the world might be saved through Him.  He who believes in Him is not judged; he who does not believe has been judged already, because he has not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God.  This is the judgment, that the Light has come into the world, and men loved the darkness rather than the Light, for their deeds were evil.  For everyone who does evil hates the Light, and does not come to the Light for fear that his deeds will be exposed.  But he who practices the truth comes to the Light, so that his deeds may be manifested as having been wrought in God.  John 3:16-21 (NASB)

So Jesus said to them, “For a little while longer the Light is among you. Walk while you have the Light, so that darkness will not overtake you; he who walks in the darkness does not know where he goes.  While you have the Light, believe in the Light, so that you may become sons of Light.”  John 12:35-36 (NASB)

And from the Sermon on the Mount …

“You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden; nor does anyone light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on the lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house.  Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven.”  Matthew 5:14-16 (NASB)

The question I wrestled with is this …

When not hiding the light of Jesus under a basket, what kind or kinds of light am I shining?

Is it a searchlight?  Typically a searchlight is used to seek out and find something that is lost in the darkness.

Is it a spotlight?  A spotlight is usually used to draw people’s attention to someone or something … Is Jesus the focus of the spotlight? Or is the spotlight focused on me or other men?

Is it a nightlight?  For a young child, a nightlight gives hope, comfort and peace in the midst of darkness.

Is it a beacon?  For those lost in the darkness, much like a lighthouse, a beacon gives a sense of direction … a sense of hope.

Is it a neon light? A neon light is often used to attract and draw people in.

Is it a flashing light?  A flashing light often warns others to approach with caution.

Is it a strobe light?  Much like the lights on a police car, does my light bring focus on those who do wrong?

Have I overlooked a possible type of light? If so, please describe in a comment.

What kind or kinds of light do you shine on the world around you?

Does it attract? or condemn?

Note the words Jesus spoke to Saul on the road to Damascus …

And the Lord said, ‘I am Jesus whom you are persecuting.  But get up and stand on your feet; for this purpose I have appeared to you, to appoint you a minister and a witness not only to the things which you have seen, but also to the things in which I will appear to you; rescuing you from the Jewish people and from the Gentiles, to whom I am sending you, to open their eyes so that they may turn from darkness to light and from the dominion of Satan to God, that they may receive forgiveness of sins and an inheritance among those who have been sanctified by faith in Me.’  Acts 26:15-18 (NASB)

Considering …

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Books, Movies & Music, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to this little light of mine …

  1. Corban says:

    One light missing… The Sun. Outshines all other ones combined! Sin and Darkness must hide in the shadows of its illumination.

    • bwebbjr says:

      I have now overcome the shock of seeing a comment from you my beloved brother … that said .. thanks for pointing out the additional light!

  2. Julie Garro says:

    I’m so glad I got to read this post. Your insight would have helped me when I wrote “Follow the Light.” Thank you for showing me some thoughts I had missed. Blessing.

    • bwebbjr says:

      So glad to hear the post was an encouragement Julie … praise the Lord! Just bought the kindle version of your book … looking forward to what the Lord revealed to you!

      Blessings in your new circumstances Julie … Christ is IN the midst!

      Bernie

Leave a Reply

