Round 2 – ureteral stint replacement complete

How’s this for a game plan?

Take a week’s vacation and go to Hilton Head Island with your wife, children and grandchildren … return on Saturday afternoon … rest and chill on Sunday … then be at the hospital at 5:45AM (Yes, that’s morning) on Monday for a ureteral stent replacement … with a return to work planned on Tuesday.

What idiot came up with that game plan?

Well, all I have to do is look in the mirror.

We (Yes, my beloved wife accompanied me on this early morning adventure) arrived at the hospital at 5:45 this morning, procedure (I can’t really call it surgery) scheduled for 7:30.  I was in the OR at 7:29 and at 7:29:50 they were administering anesthesia … I never saw 7:30.  By 10:00 I already had my Dunkin Donuts Iced Caramel Coffee and a breakfast burrito from Chick-Fil-A and was halfway home.  Just can’t beat that kind of service at a hospital …

Back in November, I wrote a post explaining the procedure, if you’re interested … cystoscopy with ureteral stent placement explained.

The urologist’s game plan from here on out is to replace this stent every six months … apparently the scar tissue from other surgeries is pressing in on the left ureter and without the stent the left ureter gets blocked … meaning I’m operating on one kidney … not a good thing.  Also the manufacturer does not recommend leaving the same stent in more than six months …

But nearly three years ago, when they discovered the cancer mass on my colon, the oncologist told me to expect chemo every two weeks for the rest of my life … but God had a different plan.  And I am fast approaching 60 weeks without chemo.  PRAISE GOD!  Only time will tell if He also has a different plan for the ureteral stent … regardless, may His will be done!

Apparently a lot of folks experience pain and discomfort while they have this stent in … but the good Lord has blessed me once again in this regard … I’d say 95+ percent of the time I don’t even know it’s there.  May it also be the Lord’s will for that to continue. …

Chillin’ at home and avoiding any anesthesia induced legal or driving decisions … and feeling loved and blessed beyond compare!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Cancer & Medicine, Faith, Reflections, Surgery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Round 2 – ureteral stint replacement complete

  1. Grateful for God’s grace at work in you and the difference your faith makes in others.

  2. jimdavenport says:

    Catching up on some of my reading while I am having trouble sleeping … now that I am wide awake I am saying to myself … ” why did you do this? ” Sorry I forgot that you were scheduled for this Bernie. Know that you mentioned it, but it completely slipped my mind. God is most assuredly taking care of you brother. Looking forward to our next discussion. Jim

    • bwebbjr says:

      I know the feeling Jim … as you know I’ve done the same thing many a time. Some of those times I just can’t sleep … and some of those times I’m convinced God wakes me up. And most assuredly God is taking care of me … and I am so blessed by His presence and healing touch!

      Bernie

Leave a Reply

