World’s Largest Figurative Sundial

My wife was reading through one of the magazines about Hilton Head Island when suddenly she stopped and asked, “Bernie, why haven’t we ever visited the King Neptune Sundial?”

And thus another family adventure began …

For those of you unfamiliar with King Neptune … according to Roman mythology, Neptune was believed to be the god of freshwater and the sea.   The mythical three pronged weapon and scepter of  choice for Neptune … the trident.

So the world’s largest figurative sundial … King Neptune and his trident … is found on Hilton Head Island, SC at Shelter Cove.

DSC01769

As my granddaughter and I walked up to the sundial, we immediately checked the time … according to the sundial.  The time appeared to be about 4:40 based on the shadow cast by the trident.  Since my watch has been on the fritz, I had to dig out my dumb cell phone (I have to assume that’s what I should call it since it’s not a smartphone) and check the time … 4:41 … too cool!

They also had a X-Y-graph that shows by month how much the time could be off during the month … exact time to a few minutes off plus or minus.  The X-axis represented the months of the year while the Y-axis shows how much the sundial could be off in minutes plus or minus.  4:40 vs. 4:41 … pretty close.

DSC01770

To give you a little statue size perspective, my 11-year-old granddaughter stands nearby.

DSC01771

BTW … by the end of the week, Papa had made a trip to see the King Neptune Sundial with each grandkid … as for my wife … well, she still hasn’t seen it  …

In the words of that infamous Kansas philosopher …

‘There’s no place like home Auntie Em … there’s no place like home.’  – Dorothy

It is indeed good to be back home after a week at the beach …

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Places & Activities, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

