it’s game time

DSC01768

Game time is a regular part of our annual beach trip.  The above stack reveals the games we are enjoying this trip.

Quiddler is a long time favorite for me and Sheryl.  I like to call it word rummy.  Each card is a letter or in a few select cases a two letter combination and much like Scrabble each letter has a value.  To go out, rather than making sets you make words.  It’s an 8 round game.  The first round starts with three cards each and each round adds a card until the final round you get 10 cards.  When you go out, you total up the points from your hand … the person with the most points at the end of 10 rounds wins … in our house, that is usually my wife.

My wife loves word games … so another favorite is Bananagrams.  Think dueling Scrabble without the board.  Basically each person starts with a number of letter tiles.  And simultaneously you are both basically building your own crossword puzzle.  When you have used up the tiles before you, both players must draw another tile, and this continues until all the tiles have been drawn.  The first person to use all their tiles wins … while I rarely win at this game either, it is a lot of fun.

The challenge on a trip with the grandkids is finding a game an 8-year-old and 60-year-old can both play and enjoy.  A number of years ago we discovered the little round tin game Spot-It … and its full of round cards.  Each card has 8 – 10 images on it – in varying sizes … at least one of those images is going to match an image on the card in front of you.  When you spot-it, call the match, grab the card, and flip the next card in the deck.  The person with the most cards at the end wins.  This is a fast game and has a number of variations.

This year, we discovered a new game called Tenzi.  It comes with 4 sets of dice … each set a different color.  Each person get a set of dice … in its simplest form, each player is trying to get all of their dice to be the same number simultaneously.  The first one with all ten dice matching shouts ‘Tenzi!’  There are a number of variations … everybody rolls for the same number, roll for 2 sets of 5, or 5 sets of 2 … super simple game … tons of fun.

Our older daughter Kerstyn brought the game Apples to Apples … it’s more of a party game … and meant for teens and older.  While not totally sold on this game, it is interesting.  Each hand one person is the judge.  He or she draws an adjective card and place it face up.  The other players all have noun cards … typically famous people, places, things and concepts.  They pick the card that best fits the adjective … or perhaps worst fits the adjective … or maybe would be the absolute funniest use of the adjective.  The judge then decides which word he like the best and that card is the winner.  The person whose cards have been chosen most by the end of the game wins.  Like I said … it can have very interesting hands … but it can have those dry hands as well …

Are there any games you and your spouse, you and your kids and grandkids enjoy?  Would love to hear about them?

Happy gaming!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Games, Places & Activities, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to it’s game time

  1. Love Bananagrams – either alone or especially with a slower competitor!

    • bwebbjr says:

      I’ll have to remember that … solitaire Bananagrams … despite the fact I just won a game for the first time in years, any slower competitor I might choose probably just hasn’t learned to spell yet!

Leave a Reply

