in search of a mentor

Corban according to Mark 7:11 means given to God.

Around 15 years ago about this time of the year, I was a man recently born-again and devoted to the religion of Christianity … I was entrenched by my desire to return to God what He had given me and I was in pursuit of being righteous … no, self-righteous … and of the pride and glory that comes from being recognized in my church for my performance.

I was in bondage to religion and my need to meet its expectations.

At that time, one of my granddaughters came to spend the week with us … at the end of the week she asked, ‘Does Papa work at the church?’  I had been at the church virtually every night of her visit.

Oh … wisdom from the mouth of babes.

Church council secretary, chairman of the bookstore ministry, Young Life leader, Young Life small group leader, Saturday night prayer team, Men’s Ministry leader, Men’s small group leader … in a growing church of 1,000 plus and growing …

I can remember doing parking lot patrol one evening for Young Life club and realizing … ‘I don’t remember sensing the presence of Jesus lately’.  I was supposedly feeding all these folks Scripture … but really … what qualified me to do so?  And who was feeding me and helping me to grow?

I remember telling Corban, the Youth Pastor (he hated that title) and our leader in Young Life, that I had just picked up another hat to wear at church, and while I don’t remember the exact question he asked at the time … I do remember thinking at the time, ‘Yes, perhaps I’m doing too much.’

And so I began the search for a mentor … someone more experienced in the walk of faith (not the rites of religion) than I who could share what he had learned in walking the narrow path, who would teach me and help me grow in my faith (the IN Christ concept was not yet a reality for me), who would challenge me.  Of course, I would need to make the decision to allow him the right to do all those things … I would need to respect him.  But first and foremost I would need to find him.

And thus began my search began to find someone older and more experienced in the walk of faith to help me grow …

Lord willing, in the coming days I will share the rest of the story …

Bernie

 

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to in search of a mentor

  1. Sandy B. says:

    I look forward to the rest of the story!

    • bwebbjr says:

      Hope you have enjoyed the first two parts of the story Sandy … more to come, Lord willing. We are at the beach this week with grandkids so writing time is limited while family time is maximized.

      Hope your devotional is progressing as you like and the Lord is revealing great things to you!

      Bernie

Leave a Reply

