a WDUNerful evening with Todd Starnes

Over the last twelve months, I have started listening to WDUN AM 550 FM 102.9 out of Gainesville, GA.  Initially I found the station as I was seeking out The Ken Coleman Show … a special one-of-a-kind talk show that’s no longer around.  But I’ve become a real fan of the station because of the area-oriented (not so much Atlanta but more northeast Georgia) talk and news programs during the morning and afternoon commutes.

One of the highlights of the morning and afternoon commutes is hearing the brief commentaries of Todd Starnes, the host of FOX News & Commentary.  His commentary lasts but a minute or two and usually focuses on little reported battles between the culture and Christians.  It may just be me, but his insightful words bring back memories of Paul Harvey …

I read Todd’s previous book Dispatches from Bitter America: A Gun Toting, Chicken Eating Son of a Baptist’s Culture War Stories and found it to be extremely insightful and convicting and his satirical style makes for enjoyable reading.

So when WDUN announced they were holding a Town Hall where Todd Starnes would be speaking in conjunction with the release of his new book God Less America: Real Stories From the Front Lines of the Attack on Traditional Values, I couldn’t order and print my free tickets fast enough …

DSC01548So when the time came, my grandson and I could hardly wait … while my photographic skills certainly require some focus, nevertheless, our selfie before Todd spoke reveals our excitement for the evening …

DSC01550

Mr. Starnes spoke for 45 minutes or so sharing a bit about his life, his career, living in New York, battles in the culture wars … he even read a chapter of his book.  There was even a Q & A session and my 11 year old grandson was so bold as to ask Todd, “What’s your favorite part of the book tour bus?”  What was it that Art Linkletter used to say?

DSC01553

As Todd shared a bit about those who have influenced his writing, I was surprised to hear two locally renowned names … Lewis Grizzard and Ludlow Porch.  (He also mentioned Erma Bombeck)  While I have never been a big newspaper reader, I did read just about every book by Lewis Grizzard.

DSC01558

Afterwards, our local Buttermilk Pie Co. served their trademark buttermilk pie (a pie so good it inspired my grandson to convince my wife to find a recipe and cook it for us … which she did … and it was absolutely delicious!) while the Longstreet Cafe served their classic sweet tea … the beverage choice of many a good ole southern boy including yours truly as well as Todd Starnes.

There was also a book signing but I’ve never really been one to seek out authors’ signatures and now 95+% of everything I read is either on my kindle or a PDF ebook … so I had fully planned on skipping the book signing.  But my grandson had just heard a book author speak for the first time, truly enjoyed it, and he was bound and determined to meet and shake the hand of Mr. Todd Starnes … radio commentator, author, speaker and fellow southerner and believer IN Christ Jesus.  So wait we did and Mr. Starnes spoke to Noah and he also graciously posed for another one of my out-of-focus pics.

As soon as we got home I purchased the new book and began to read.  No doubt Todd is a modern day version of the Old Testament watchman and his book is a clarion warning to Christians in America.  Much as the Greeks learned long ago, the current leaders of our nation have learned that the way to shape a nation is to shape its children … so the forces of cultural transformation are actively waging war on our children from kindergarten to college and for those not going the college route … the military oftentimes find themselves in the midst of both cultural and foreign wars.   And I absolutely love those chapters written as satirical prophecy … stories prophetic of the cultural direction we are headed yet so far fetched they couldn’t possibly come true … or so we hope.  This book is definitely recommended reading … and your eyes will be opened … and opened wide.

We had an absolutely WDUNderful evening with Todd Starnes!

Thanks guys!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Books, Movies & Music, Faith, Humor, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to a WDUNerful evening with Todd Starnes

  1. jimdavenport says:

    Sounds like a wonderful evening for you and Noah! I will have to check out the Starnes Book as well. Thanks for the recommendation. Jim D.

    • bwebbjr says:

      I had no idea how Noah might respond to this experience … I was pleasantly surprised and pleased with how he responded. And you are indeed welcome for the book recommendation … would appreciate your feedback.

      Abide IN Christ Jesus … the way, the truth and the life!

      Bernie

  2. your story made me smile

  3. savedbygrace says:

    why am i reading God Less america?

    • savedbygrace says:

      ah! the B was blurry

      • bwebbjr says:

        That is the subtle point of the title … Todd Starnes, a devout believer, is writing about the war against traditional Christian values in America today and how it is moving us from a country often proclaiming ‘God bless America’ toward becoming a nation without God … A God less America. His book is meant to be a warning not a declaration of a better way. I share and appreciate your concern for what the title signifies. I can assure you Mr. Starnes is NOT celebrating a God Less America.

        Be blessing IN Christ Jesus … our Lord and Savior!

        Saved by grace indeed!

        Bernie

Leave a Reply

