religious liberty

After writing a blog series for 16 straight days, I planned on taking a few days … maybe even a couple of weeks off … from writing.  And I definitely was looking forward to sleeping in this morning.  Alas, with my early morning wake-up call I sense that God has different plans.  Today’s post is simply an introduction for the one or more to follow … it is intended to stir your thoughts and mine.

Let’s begin with the United States Declaration of Independence …

“We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.”

Before we continue, let me make a point.  Despite what the words above say, they are not Scripture … they are not the words of God … nor are these that follow … the First Amendment of the U.S. Constitution.  They are the words of men.

Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.

As Christians in the U.S. today we find ourselves in the midst of culture wars and differing worldviews, where from a societal and world viewpoint, our religious liberties are eroding and flat-out being taken away … from a legal perspective.  Far … far … far … more importantly than that, we live in a nation that is increasingly turning away from God.

What is the response of ‘Christianity’?

  • The indifference of silence
  • Tolerance … which in my mind is simply hate or a lack of love and concern for our fellow man’s eternal destiny
  • We are offended by the absence of biblical morality … and somehow surprised that the response of evil and darkness to good and light should or even could be anything different
  • We complain about ‘not getting our way’
  • We fight for our religious freedom and liberties … our legal rights
  • We speak out in words of judgment with a heart of vindictiveness
  • And finally, out of love we speak truth in word and deed enduring what is before us

My belief … and I will confess to you now that I don’t always do a good job of living it out before God and my fellow man (In fact, if truth be known, every bullet above is somewhat reflective of ways that I have responded or currently respond … forgive me Lord!) … is that the last response is the only one that is Christian.

And for today … that’s a good point to stop and let both you and me stew a bit.  Tomorrow … well, let’s just wait and see what the Lord has in store.

Prayerfully considering …

Bernie

 

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to religious liberty

  1. jimdavenport says:

    Looks like our minds might be running in the same vein again. I have been working on my 5th article in the series “The Fall of a Godly Nation” … should finish it by tomorrow. Look forward to the next post to see where this goes. Blessings, Jim D.

    • bwebbjr says:

      Read a powerful family devotional last nite in our Duck Dynasty devotional by Uncle Si based on either Psalm 10:4 or 14:1 … just don’t remember. Then I am reading at bedtime the new Todd Starnes book God Less America … based on that 1-2 punch I got a 4:30am wake-up call and have written 3 almost 4 posts today. Look forward to the 5th part in your series … will be watching for up. Hope you and Charlotte have a blessed and ejoyable Memorial Day weekend Jim … God bless!

      Bernie

      • jimdavenport says:

        That sounds great! I have been working on my next “the Fall of a Godly Nation” article for most of the day. Have felt a little better today.

Leave a Reply

