the missed adventure IN the words of God (16) – path

The Old Testament saints knew there was an ancient path to follow …

Thus says the LORD, “Stand by the ways and see and ask for the ancient paths, Where the good way is, and walk in it; and you will find rest for your souls.” Jeremiah 6:16 (NASB)

And they knew the directions for that path were found IN the words of God …

Make me know Your ways, O LORD; Teach me Your paths. Psalms 25:4 (NASB)

Make me walk in the path of Your commandments, For I delight in it. Psalm 119:35 (NASB)

And the words of God illuminated the way … they guided every footstep along the path.

Your word is a lamp to my feet And a light to my path. Psalm 119:105 (NASB)

For nearly two millennia now, Jesus’ words ‘Follow Me’ have echoed in the minds, hearts, souls and spirits of believers everywhere … He spoke of a narrow way … a narrow path

“Enter through the narrow gate; for the gate is wide and the way is broad that leads to destruction, and there are many who enter through it. For the gate is small and the way is narrow that leads to life, and there are few who find it.Matthew 7:13-14 (NASB)

The words of God continue to be a lamp unto that narrow path … directing our every step … directing what we do …

Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says. James 1:22 (NIV)

As we do life up that ancient and narrow path …

  • We are to love one another as Jesus has loved us (John 13:34).
  • We are to walk IN faith as Abraham walked IN Faith (Romans 4).
  • We are to be led by the Holy Spirit (Romans 8:14).
  • We are to die to self and submit to Christ Jesus living IN and through us (Galatians 2:20).
  • Etc.

And as we abide IN Christ Jesus and answer His call to ‘Follow Me’, we are to subsequently walk as He walked …

My little children, I am writing these things to you so that you may not sin. And if anyone sins, we have an Advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous; and He Himself is the propitiation for our sins; and not for ours only, but also for those of the whole world. By this we know that we have come to know Him, if we keep His commandments … whoever keeps His word, IN him the love of God has truly been perfected. By this we know that we are IN Him: the one who says he abides IN Him ought himself to walk IN the same manner as He walked. 1 John 2:1-3, 5, 6

The adventure found IN the words of God is not fully experienced and realized until we travel up the narrow path … walking as Jesus walked.

As I set out to write this blog series, my intent was not to write or teach about man endorsed Bible study and Bible study methods. No, my intent was in a series of posts to discuss how God intends for man to explore and embrace His words. What I hope you discovered (perhaps you already knew it) is that God has a plan … a plan that INpowers and INables YOU and ALL believers to embrace, study, understand, know, speak and walk IN … and … according to … His words … the words of God. God longs to be your personal Teacher … for the most part man is simply intended to be His divinely chosen and called teaching assistant.

So when believers truly embrace Christ Jesus and God’s plan … His will … the journey IN the words of God will be quite an adventure … an adventure that is oftentimes missed. Or perhaps better stated … avoided.

Quite frankly, any Bible study methodology man comes up with pales in comparison.

At this point, I believe I have written all the posts in this series that I sensed God’s Spirit leading me to write. Thanks for reading, considering and following along with me.

If you’ll click on either the missed adventure or IN the words of God tags in the right hand column of this web page, it will bring up search results with the 16 posts in this series.

As for you, hopefully your adventure will be …

(continued IN the words of God)

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to the missed adventure IN the words of God (16) – path

  1. jimdavenport says:

    What an adventure! Sorry to see this series go. Your servant heart and love for His Word are so evident in each of the articles in this series. Lord keep us on the path … Your path of righteousness! “The Lord is My Shepherd, I shall not want, 2He makes me lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside quiet waters. 3He restores my soul; He guides me in the paths of righteousness For His name’s sake. 4Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil, for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.…. So thankful for you, Bernie. Jim D

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thanks Jim … Psalm 23 … what a perfect complement and conclusion to this post. Thanks for all your encouragement throughout … my prayer … my hope … is that God revealed His plan and purpose for His words in the lives of believers.

      Be blessed and be healed brother!

      Bernie

  2. An excellent series. Thank you for the encouragement and the faithful guidance IN the path of righteousness.

    • bwebbjr says:

      You are indeed welcome Richard … thank you for following along, considering what was written, and offering encouragement along the way. May God be glorified!

Leave a Reply

