the missed adventure IN the words of God (13) – Word of God

Today let’s begin at the end…

And I saw heaven opened, and behold, a white horse, and He who sat on it is called Faithful and True, and in righteousness He judges and wages war.  His eyes are a flame of fire, and on His head are many diadems; and He has a name written on Him which no one knows except Himself.  He is clothed with a robe dipped in blood, and His name is called The Word of God.”   Revelation 19:11-13 (NASB)

Jesus is The Word of God.

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was in the beginning with God.  All things came into being through Him, and apart from Him nothing came into being that has come into being.  IN Him was life, and the life was the Light of men.  The Light shines in the darkness, and the darkness did not comprehend it … And the Word became flesh, and dwelt among us, and we saw His glory, glory as of the only begotten from the Father, full of grace and truth.  John 1:1-5,14 (NASB)

Jesus is the image of the invisible God.

He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of all creation.  Colossians 1:15 (NASB)

Originally, God spoke to man IN the prophets … also recorded as Scripture … the words of God. Then God spoke to man IN Christ Jesus … the Word of God

God, after He spoke long ago to the fathers IN the prophets in many portions and in many ways, in these last days has spoken to us IN His Son, whom He appointed heir of all things, through whom also He made the world. And He is the radiance of His glory and the exact representation of His nature, and upholds all things by the word of His power. When He had made purification of sins, He sat down at the right hand of the Majesty on high, having become as much better than the angels, as He has inherited a more excellent name than they.  Hebrews 1:1-4 (NASB)

Jesus … the Word of God … is the exact representation of the nature of God.

As I began this series, I intentionally used the phrase the words of God instead of the collective word of God so there would be no confusion about what I was addressing. But let me be clear, just as Jesus also had to clarify, life is not found IN the words of God … life is found IN Christ Jesus alone … in the Word of God. The Scriptures testify to that truth …

“You search the Scriptures because you think that in them you have eternal life; it is these that testify about Me; and you are unwilling to come to Me so that you may have life.”  John 5:39-40 (NASB)

Consider the following …

“The secret things belong to the LORD our God, but the things revealed belong to us and to our sons forever, that we may observe all the words of this law.  Deuteronomy 29:29 (NASB)

For whatever was written in earlier times was written for our instruction, so that through perseverance and the encouragement of the Scriptures we might have hope.  Romans 15:4 (NASB)

For I hope IN You, O LORD …  Psalm 38:15 (NASB)

IN Scripture … IN the words of God … the nature of God is revealed to man.

Be imitators of me, just as I also am of Christ. 1 Corinthians 11:1 (NASB)

“A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another, even as I have loved you, that you also love one another. By this all men will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another.” John 13:34-35 (NASB)

As imitators … IN Christ Jesus, disciples are to reveal the nature of Christ Jesus … of God … to all men.

What a plan … what a challenge … what an adventure!

(to be continued with … understanding)

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to the missed adventure IN the words of God (13) – Word of God

  1. jimdavenport says:

    Excellent, Bernie. Imitators! Imitators indeed! Lord, may I be that imitator that God wants me to be by allowing the Holy Spirit to live in me and through me. May I be true to your Word … for in the beginning was the Word. May the Word keep me on a path that always brings glory to God and not myself. Jim D.

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thanks for your encouragement throughout this series Jim … I so appreciate you. Just three more posts in the series … and you actually have identified the word that will be the concluding post. Oh, that Christ might live IN and THRU us and all the world would see and know that we are His disciples! Bernie

  2. All the more reason to “rightly divide the word of truth” and not act as if the Bible is like the horoscope in the newspaper: twisted to be anything to anyone at anytime.

    • bwebbjr says:

      Absolutely Richard … may you and all who read my posts hold me accountable to rightly dividing the word of truth … and correct me whenever my spiritual math goes astray!

Leave a Reply

