the missed adventure IN the words of God (10) – IN

IN … indwell … abide …

What are the characteristics of your abode … your dwelling?

Here are a few I came up with …

  • From an earthly perspective, it usually is not temporary
  • A great deal of time, effort and money go in to KEEPing it
  • Over a lifetime, we probably spend more time there than anywhere else
  • Oftentimes it is shared with others … family, friends and visitors
  • We go there to find rest and renewal
  • We find nourishment there
  • We find love and care there
  • We oftentimes call it home
  • It is typically the place we live IN

IN … abide … indwell … take a moment to consider based on the above what those words truly mean … now consider several passages of Scripture recorded by the apostle John … spoken by Jesus.

“If you abide IN Me, and My words abide IN you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.”  John 15:7 (NASB)

John also wrote …

I have written to you, fathers, because you know Him who has been from the beginning. I have written to you, young men, because you are strong, and the word of God abides IN you, and you have overcome the evil one.  1 John 2:14 (NASB)

But you have an anointing from the Holy One, and you all know.  I have not written to you because you do not know the truth, but because you do know it, and because no lie is of the truth.  Who is the liar but the one who denies that Jesus is the Christ? This is the antichrist, the one who denies the Father and the Son.  Whoever denies the Son does not have the Father; the one who confesses the Son has the Father also.  As for you, let that abide IN you which you heard from the beginning. If what you heard from the beginning abides IN you, you also will abide IN the Son and IN the Father.  1 John 2:20-24 (NASB)

And from Paul, the literary master of the divine adjective …

Let the word of Christ richly dwell withIN you, with all wisdom teaching and admonishing one another with psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with thankfulness in your hearts to God.  Colossians 3:16 (NASB)

Do the words of God … the words of Christ abide IN you?  Do they richly dwell withIN you?

Why? Or perhaps why not?

(to be continued with … keep)

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to the missed adventure IN the words of God (10) – IN

  1. jimdavenport says:

    Reblogged this on jimdavenport and commented:
    My friend Bernie Webb is really on a roll with his series of articles on “the missed adventure IN the words of God.” This is the 10th article in the series. God is providing such rich spiritual insight into the words of God. I invite you to read while I continue to recover from surgery.

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thanks for your kind and encouraging words Jim … also the reblog … may those who read be truly engaged in the adventure found IN the words of God!

  2. jimdavenport says:

    The best of the articles in this series yet!! May you continue to abide IN Christ my brother. Jim

  3. Coining a new term: Inbide.

    • bwebbjr says:

      You are on the same page as me brother … as I move to the conclusion of this series the two new words I will be using in the conclusion (spoiler alert!) are INabled and INpowered …

      INbide … I like it!

      Bernie

Leave a Reply

