the missed adventure IN the words of God (9) – sword

For those of you that are following along in this series, I want to thank you. I hope this has been insightful and inspirational … if so, we can both thank the Lord. If you’re wondering when will it end, it looks like there will be a total of 12 to 13 entries in the series based on my notes.

Thanks again …

OK … moving on …

Have you ever stopped and considered what God’s intended purpose is for me and you IN and THRU Scripture … the words of God?

All Scripture is inspired by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, for training in righteousness; so that the man of God may be adequate, equipped for every good work. 2 Timothy 3:16-17 (NASB)

Most of you are probably aware of and even have kids in the AWANA program … but do you know what AWANA stands for? Approved Workmen Are Not Ashamed … and this is the Bible verse the name is base on …

Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth. 2 Timothy 2:15 (NASB)

When it comes to handling the words of God, do you believe you should be considered an unashamed approved workman of God who accurately handles the word of truth?

I know it’s a hard question … personally I find it be a question that pierces my heart, soul and spirit … but then God said it would!

For the word of God is living and active and sharper than any two-edged sword, and piercing as far as the division of soul and spirit, of both joints and marrow, and able to judge the thoughts and intentions of the heart. Hebrews 4:12 (NASB)

Living, active and sharper than any two edged sword … the word of God is the sword of the Holy Spirit … it is the sword that God gives every believer in the full armor of God.

And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. Ephesians 6:17 (NASB)

But do I … do you … truly understand to what ends you put on that armor and then wield the sword of the Spirit?

Be strong in the Lord and in the strength of His might. Put on the full armor of God, so that you will be able to stand firm against the schemes of the devil. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the powers, against the world forces of this darkness, against the spiritual forces of wickedness in the heavenly places. Therefore, take up the full armor of God, so that you will be able to resist in the evil day, and having done everything, to stand firm. Ephesians 6:10-13 (NASB)

I don’t know about you but sometimes I am oh-so-guilty of wielding and slashing that sword against flesh and blood … versus standing firm against the schemes of the devil to lead me astray and keep me from Christ, standing firm against the rulers, against the powers, against the world forces of this darkness, standing firm against the spiritual forces of wickedness.

Consider Paul’s words of wisdom to Timothy …

The Lord’s bond-servant must not be quarrelsome, but be kind to all, able to teach, patient when wronged, with gentleness correcting those who are in opposition, if perhaps God may grant them repentance leading to the knowledge of the truth, and they may come to their senses and escape from the snare of the devil, having been held captive by him to do his will. 2 Timothy 2:24-26 (NASB)

Perhaps when I find myself using this sword against flesh and blood … I need to instead stop and envision myself using that same sword IN God’s strength to stand firm and to help set the captive before me free from the snare of the devil … just sayin’

Do you know how to accurately handle your spiritual sword?

Do you stand IN the strength of the Lord and glorify your king whenever you wield the spiritual sword He has given you?

Are you standing firm IN Christ Jesus?

The above passages of Scripture seem to suggest that there is perhaps an additional meaning behind these words spoken by Jesus … a meaning we rarely if ever consider …

“Do not think that I came to bring peace on the earth; I did not come to bring peace, but a sword.” Matthew 10:34 (NASB)

(to be continued with … IN)

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the missed adventure IN the words of God (9) – sword

  1. jimdavenport says:

    Bernie, this is the paragraph that struck me the most on this post: “I don’t know about you but sometimes I am oh-so-guilty of wielding and slashing that sword against flesh and blood … versus standing firm against the schemes of the devil to lead me astray and keep me from Christ, standing firm against the rulers, against the powers, against the world forces of this darkness, standing firm against the spiritual forces of wickedness.” … And in particular the concept of “standing firm against the schemes of the devil …” Standing firm through the power of the Holy Spirit dwelling within us is the answer to so many of life’s problems. Doing what is right in the sight of God requires one to stand firm. This post is one of the best in the series. Thank you. Jim D.

    • bwebbjr says:

      Such encouragement in your words Jim ,,, and such truth in your added insights. Thanks so much for following along and considering the words in this series. Bernie

Leave a Reply

