the missed adventure IN the words of God (8) – Helper

Jesus promised that when He returned to the Father, He would send the Helper to the disciples …

“But now I am going to Him who sent Me; and none of you asks Me, ‘Where are You going?’  But because I have said these things to you, sorrow has filled your heart.  But I tell you the truth, it is to your advantage that I go away; for if I do not go away, the Helper will not come to you; but if I go, I will send Him to you.”  John 16:5-7 (NASB)

But who is the Helper and what does He do?

“But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name, He will teach you ALL things, and bring to your remembrance ALL that I said to you.”  John 14:26 (NASB)

God gives ALL believers His Spirit to teach ALL things … that includes ALL the words of God … the words He has spoken to us through Scripture.

WOW!

Just take a moment and reflect upon that aspect of the God fix …

Then consider these words from the apostle John.

But you have an anointing from the Holy One … the anointing which you received from Him abides IN you, and you have no need for anyone to teach you; but as His anointing teaches you about ALL things, and is true and is not a lie, and just as it has taught you, you abide IN Him.  1 John 2:20,27 (NASB)

You ever take a literature class in high school or college? As the teacher or professor pontificated about the hidden meanings behind what the author wrote, did you ever question and wonder, ‘How do they know that?’   (Ironically my return to Christ began in the midst of a college literature class in my mid-30’s in just such a discussion on the Confessions by Augustine … don’t know how that slipped through public education’s anti-God filter …)

Did you know ALL Scripture is God inspired or God breathed? (2 Timothy 3:16) But what exactly does that mean? Peter provides a pretty good answer …

But know this first of ALL, that no prophecy of Scripture is a matter of one’s own interpretation, for no prophecy was ever made by an act of human will, but men moved by the Holy Spirit spoke from God (later recorded and written down for all believers – bw).  1 Peter 1:20-21 (NASB)

So, IN the Holy Spirit, God has provided not only the Teacher but also the Author of ALL Scripture to each and every believer that we may truly understand the words of God and walk IN them.

But much like the Israelites, oftentimes men would rather meet with and be taught by other men rather than meet with and be taught by God … note these words of Scripture written immediately after God had spoken the Ten Commandments …

All the people perceived the thunder and the lightning flashes and the sound of the trumpet and the mountain smoking; and when the people saw it, they trembled and stood at a distance.  Then they said to Moses, “Speak to us yourself and we will listen; but let not God speak to us, or we will die.”  Exodus 20:18-19 (NASB)

Let not God speak to us, or we will die …

No, no, no … Life is found IN God speaking to you and to me!

God’s plan and gifting does indeed call for men and women to be teachers of the words of God … but the enemy, for the moment, is alive and doing all he can to lead us astray (not a problem for the Holy Spirit).  And at times the true meaning of Scripture is lost in the translation of man and division occurs.  Even the Spirit-filled first century church was not immune to such problems …

For I have been informed concerning you, my brethren, by Chloe’s people, that there are quarrels among you.  Now I mean this, that each one of you is saying, “I am of Paul,” and “I of Apollos,” and “I of Cephas,” and “I of Christ.”  Has Christ been divided? Paul was not crucified for you, was he? Or were you baptized in the name of Paul? … For Christ did not send me to baptize, but to preach the gospel, not in cleverness of speech, so that the cross of Christ would not be made void.  1 Corinthians 1:11-13,17 (NASB)

We must all become like the Bereans … first choosing our teachers wisely and then testing all that they teach by the Spirit and according to Scripture …

The brethren immediately sent Paul and Silas away by night to Berea, and when they arrived, they went into the synagogue of the Jews.  Now these were more noble-minded than those in Thessalonica, for they received the word with great eagerness, examining the Scriptures daily to see whether these things were so.  Acts 17: 10-11 (NASB)

The big challenge for me and for you is not to quench the Holy Spirit (1 Thessalonians 5:19) … but to seek out and listen and learn ALL that God has to reveal to us through the teaching of His Spirit … the Helper.

Convict and teach me Holy Spirit … convict and teach us!

(to be continued with … sword)

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the missed adventure IN the words of God (8) – Helper

  1. jimdavenport says:

    Wow, Bernie! You are certainly on a roll with this series of articles. Earlier today one of my missionary friends serving in Macedonia sent out an email asking for good books on the Holy Spirit. Do you know of a particularly good book I could recommend to him? Jim

    • bwebbjr says:

      Jim, I have simply been a vessel … a scribe … for the insights God has provided through Scripture by His Holy Spirit. Just scanned my book list to see what I’ve read on the Holy Spirit … the first book I read in 2000 was The Holy Spirit: Knowing the Comforter by Max Anders (I think is now published as What You Need to Know About the Holy Spirit: 12 Lessons That Can Change Your Life) – this is what I would call a Holy Spirit 101 book … it was foundational for me. Spirit Rising” Tapping Into the Power of the Holy Spirit by Jim Cymbala of the Brooklyn Tabernacle. He is probably one of the best modern day writers on the Holy Spirit … his first book Fresh Wind, Fresh Fire is an incredibly exciting testimony to the work of the Holy Spirit in shaping the Brooklyn Tabernacle. And finally one of my favorite authors is the 19th-early 20th century author Andrew Murray. You sense the Holy Spirit guiding his every written word … his book The Indwelling Spirit: The Work of the Holy Spirit in the Life of the Believer. I’d recommend all three books.

      Any body out there in the blogosphere have books, apart from the Bible, you would recommend regarding the Holy Spirit?

      Hope this helps Jim … combine these with the Major Ian Thomas book and a believer can’t help but be transformed!

      Bernie

Leave a Reply

