the missed adventure IN the words of God (6) – the God fix

As we discovered in the last post, the natural man has a limitation that prevents him from being able to grasp spiritual things … like the words of God.

Just so you know … that was not a surprise to God … before the creation of the world, God set a plan in motion … a fix so to speak … that would address the bondage of sin and evil … the limitation of man which prevents him from fully engaging the adventure found IN the words of God.

God spoke through His prophets … first giving a glimpse of what He was looking for to Samuel as he informed King Saul his reign was coming to an end …

“But now your kingdom shall not endure. The LORD has sought out for Himself a man after His own heart, and the LORD has appointed him as ruler over His people, because you have not kept what the LORD commanded you.”  1 Samuel 13:14 (NASB)

And then as Samuel sought out the boy who would be Israel’s new king …

The LORD said to Samuel, “Do not look at his appearance or at the height of his stature, because I have rejected him; for God sees not as man sees, for man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.  1 Samuel 16:7 (NASB)

Finally through the prophets Jeremiah and Ezekiel, God declared His plan, His new covenant, the God fix …

“Behold, days are coming,” declares the LORD, “when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and with the house of Judah, not like the covenant which I made with their fathers in the day I took them by the hand to bring them out of the land of Egypt, My covenant which they broke, although I was a husband to them,” declares the LORD.  “But this is the covenant which I will make with the house of Israel after those days,” declares the LORD, “I will put My law within them and on their heart I will write it; and I will be their God, and they shall be My people.  They will not teach again, each man his neighbor and each man his brother, saying, ‘Know the LORD,’ for they will all know Me, from the least of them to the greatest of them,” declares the LORD, “for I will forgive their iniquity, and their sin I will remember no more.”  Jeremiah 31:31-34 (NASB)

“For I will take you from the nations, gather you from all the lands and bring you into your own land.  Then I will sprinkle clean water on you, and you will be clean; I will cleanse you from all your filthiness and from all your idols.  Moreover, I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit within you; and I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh.  I will put My Spirit within you and cause you to walk in My statutes, and you will be careful to observe My ordinances.”  Ezekiel 36:24-27 (NASB) (also see a very similar passage in Ezekiel 11:19-20)

Let’s recap how God plans for natural man to become a man after His own heart

  • He will make a new covenant … aka New Testament … with man
  • He will give man a new heart
  • He will put a new spirit in man … the Spirit of God
  • He will write His Law on man’s heart
  • Man will not need to be taught about God
  • He will cause man to walk in His statutes and be careful to observe His ordinances

I can’t help but think as the natural men of that era … those men under bondage to sin and evil … heard these prophecies, that there had to be a dumbfounded Nicodemus moment of ‘What????????’

As a spiritual man, the irony of this statement in Ezekiel’s prophecy is not lost on me, “I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh.”  A heart of stone correlates with a covenant written on tablets of stone … a new heart of flesh correlates with a new covenant written in the flesh and blood of the Son of Man.

And in this moment, I find myself very thankful for the God fix … how about you?

(to be continued with … execution)

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the missed adventure IN the words of God (6) – the God fix

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thanks for the encouraging words Richard … God gets ALL the glory and honor for anything well and biblically said of His plans … for all else I take full responsibility!

Leave a Reply

