the missed adventure IN the words of God (4) – love

As this series was coming together, I debated which comes first … meditation or love?

If you’re following along, then you obviously know what I decided.  Seems to me like you meditate on the features and characteristics of someone or something before you truly decide to love … I’m open to other viewpoints … feel free to chime in.  So …

Take a moment and consider what the greatest love poem you know is …

‘Roses are red, Violets are blue’ versions … while very popular … don’t count!

What did you come up with? Who wrote it?

Maybe it’s something written by some well known or perhaps little known poet …

Or maybe it’s more personal … maybe something written for you by a loved one … or something written by you to a loved one …

Some call the words of God a ‘love letter’ … basically expressing God’s love for mankind.   Some debate that oversimplification … I am neither here to debate nor promote that concept.

OK … round 2 … what do you believe is the greatest love poem found in Scripture?

I’m sure a few of you probably listed the very intimate Song of Solomon … and that is indeed a great love poem.

But I’m thinking of something a little different …

What would you think if I told you that someone wrote a love poem in the Bible that is 176 verses in length expressing his love, passion and devotion?  Actually it is also the longest chapter in the entire Bible?

I’m talking about Psalms 119 … the object of his (probably David) love, passion and devotion … the words of God.

Note how the author expresses his love for the words of God …

I shall delight in Your commandments, which I love. (verse 47)

And I shall lift up my hands to Your commandments, which I love; and I will meditate on Your statutes. (verse 48)

O how I love Your law! It is my meditation all the day. (verse 97)

I hate those who are double-minded, but I love Your law. (verse 113)

You have removed all the wicked of the earth like dross; therefore I love Your testimonies. (verse 119)

Therefore I love Your commandments above gold, yes, above fine gold. (verse 127)

Your word is very pure, therefore Your servant loves it. (verse 140)

Consider how I love Your precepts; revive me, O LORD, according to Your lovingkindness. (verse 159)

I hate and despise falsehood, but I love Your law. (verse 163)

Those who love Your law have great peace, and nothing causes them to stumble. (verse 165)

My soul keeps Your testimonies, and I love them exceedingly. (verse 167)

Those verses give but a glimpse into the love, passion and devotion the author expresses throughout Psalm 119 … I would highly recommend spending time reading through and meditating on this Psalm.

(note: in 2011, in conjunction with a sermon series at church, I actually journaled through Psalm 119 here on the blog over 7 days … if you’re interested here are the links:

A closing exercise …

Think of someone you love very much … perhaps a spouse, a child, a parent, a grandparent, a friend, etc.

OK. Have you thought of someone?

Then take a moment to think of the love, the passion and the devotion you have for that person.

It’s pretty awesome to consider, isn’t it?

Now take a minute and honestly evaluate the love, passion and devotion you have for God and His words …

How do the two compare?  Or is there really any comparison at all?

Could you write a poem motivated by love like David did?

Considering …

(to be continued with … limitation)

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to the missed adventure IN the words of God (4) – love

  1. jimdavenport says:

    Enjoying this series so much my brother. I, too, love Psalm 119. What a love poem! Jim

  2. bwebbjr says:

    So glad to hear it Jim … your words are a great encouragement to me!

    Bernie

  3. Kelly says:

    Wow, this must be just what I needed to read.

    Thank you Bernie.

    Amongst my favourite is Psalm 31:24.

    Always gives me hope.

    • bwebbjr says:

      ‘Be strong and let your heart take courage, All you who hope in the LORD.’ Psalm 31:24 – It is easy to understand why this is one of your favorites. So glad to hear this post could be an encouragement to you.

      Abide IN Christ Jesus, His love and His words Kelly.

      Bernie

Leave a Reply

