the missed adventure IN the words of God (1) – intro

Let’s face it. Oftentimes when we hear the words Bible study we immediately relate it to one of our least favorite and most feared words … homework. And we run shrieking and screaming into the streets …

OK, so I have exaggerated just a bit … a very little bit.

Homework … despite the love-hate relationship we have with it beginning from childhood … is an essential in building the brainpower, knowledge and skills needed throughout life.

But I fear that simple correlation … Bible study equates to Homework … causes most to miss one of the greatest and grandest adventures in life … the adventure found IN and THRU the words of God.   After all, there is no grade given and no consequences for not doing this biblical homework … or so we fool ourselves into believing.

And in contrast to our life-long nemesis homework, the adventure IN the words of God builds up, shapes and nourishes our mind, heart, soul and spirit while at the same time also building an intimate relationship between us and our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

A relationship … I might add … like most relationships … that demands time, trust and truth. A relationship of two-way communication … one in which you reveal bits of yourself to Him (bits He already knows by the way) and one in which He reveals bits of Himself to you (bits you are oftentimes clueless about). And Scripture is at the heart of those two-way revelations.

Unlike most adventure books you read, the Bible is not intended to be simply read and then put back on the shelf … one more literary work experienced. No, unlike our nemesis above the words of God are intended to be our lifelong companion. While the study of the words of God is indeed an adventure itself, those words also prompt us, lead us, equip us and accompany us throughout the adventure called life … that God has prepared in advance for us to journey through.

Like all adventures, the adventure IN the words of God demands that …

  • The adventurer must have passion for what’s before him or her
  • The adventurer must be committed to see it through
  • The adventurer must be well equipped

As believers, we find ourselves in the hands of the Divine Outfitter. Lord willing, in the coming days perhaps I can share some insights into Scripture and God’s equipping that will encourage an embrace of this adventure for you … the missed adventure found IN the words of God.

Please pray for me as the writer … and I will pray for you as the reader …

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to the missed adventure IN the words of God (1) – intro

  1. jimdavenport says:

    Bernie, while the body and mind heal from the most recent surgery I will be looking forward to these articles with a sense of anticipation knowing in advance that God will lay upon your heart and mind messages that will re-kindle my own fires for writing about HIM and HIS WORD. I am sharing this one with my blog partners. Blessings, Jim

    • bwebbjr says:

      Hopefully your anticipation will be rewarded with insights and teaching of the Holy Spirit … the whole series is laid out in a one page outline … and I am looking forward to writing about what God has revealed and will surely reveal in the midst of the writing.

      Bernie

  2. jimdavenport says:

    Reblogged this on jimdavenport and commented:
    The article below by my dear friend Bernie Webb is the first in a series of coming articles exposing the joy that can be found by spending time IN HIS WORD. I look forward to the next article with great anticipation and urge you to become a follower of Bernie’s Blogsite. Jim Davenport

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thanks for the recommendation and reblog to your followers Jim … hopefully eyes will be opened to the joy and adventure found IN the words of God. Be healed brother … be healed IN Christ Jesus name!

      Bernie

Leave a Reply

