What a fantastic privilege!

My dear friend Jim and I began our journey together this morning through the book The Indwelling Life of Christ: All of Him in All of Me by Major W. Ian Thomas.

The goal: Reading and discussing two chapters a week … there are fifty chapters in this little devotional –style book.

The result: We just barely made it through the introduction.

I had read the intro and the first two chapters, highlighting in yellow, underlining in red, and making personal notes. Interestingly enough … most of what had spoken to Jim’s heart touched on things I had seemingly just read over … my book had no highlights … no red marks … no notes … on those passages.

Through Jim and Major Thomas, I sensed God revealing profound truths that I had simply skimmed over … so no doubt going through this together and discussing will hopefully multiply our insight as the Lord reveals and convicts us of different truths. Truly exciting!

Here is the opening sentence of the introduction.

“To be entirely honest, I know of nothing quite so boring as Christianity without Christ.”

A bit later he expands on that point with harsher yet truthful words …

“ … detaching your Christianity from Christ is to reduce it to the impotence of a dead religion, impersonal to Him and impersonal to you, just an intellectual exercise or a sentimental formula – and Christianity is neither. Christianity is Christ.”

And that impacts not only us but those who come in search of Christ.

“Countless people have stopped going to a place of worship simply because they are sick of going through the motions of dead religion. They are tired of trying to start a car on an empty tank. What a pity that there are not more people around to show them that Jesus Christ is alive.”

But there is an answer … there is a Way … no doubt the reason the first century church was known as the Way …

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through Me.”John 14:6 (NASB)

And Major Thomas touched on our greatest need in Christianity today …

“Experiencing this simplicity (of Christ as described in 2 Corinthians 11:3 bw) is the greatest need today throughout the Church worldwide. The utmost need in every ministry group, every missionary outreach, every denomination, is to rediscover the Lord Jesus Christ and the indispensability of His indwelling presence within the believer. This means encountering the risen living Lord who shares His life with us on earth on our way to heaven (NOT only in the hereafter but in the here and now! bw) … so that He may accomplish through us what He began to do in His own physical body two thousand years ago. What a fantastic privilege!”

What a fantastic privilege indeed!

May His Body be found surrendered, submitted, indwelled, obedient, loving and faithful!

May we truly become the vessels of the glorious living Lord!

All of Jesus in all of me! (definitely a topic to be expanded upon on another day …)

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Books, Movies & Music, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What a fantastic privilege!

  1. Sandy B. says:

    Bernie,
    You and I are on a similar path of discovery! I can’t wait to share with you the devotional I’m working on. But I will say I’m understanding why you capitalize IN! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Sandy B. says:

    Reblogged this on the far reaches of grace and commented:
    I love this brother’s open love for God and his great insights.

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thanks for the reblog Sandy … highly recommend this little book. Major Ian Thomas has so much to share with us about the indwelling life of Christ … what I like to call the mutual indwelling. Blessings sister!

  3. jimdavenport says:

    Reblogged this on jimdavenport and commented:
    My friend Bernie Webb and I are meeting weekly working together through a wonderful little book. Here is Bernie’s post about our first meeting. Don’t miss this one! I know that you will enjoy! Jim D.

  4. A Christless Christianity is indeed, dead religion.

    • bwebbjr says:

      I grieve for those who embrace such a dead religion on the pretense that Jesus is in it … and earlier in my walk I was definitely counted among them. Sometimes the greatest mission fields are within the walls of a church buidling.

Leave a Reply

