Thank you … 10 years and counting

Thank YouTen years ago on April 21, 2004 in response to an invitation from some college students I had taught for a few years through high school and college, I wrote my first blog entry and posted it on the blog host Xanga (My site on Xanga has since been archived). And there I continued to blog until July of 2011 at which point I felt prompted to move over to WordPress.com.

At the time, I was convicted that I would blog a little less frequently and that the focus would be a bit more Christ centered. A little bit less than a month later, colon surgery revealed incurable Stage IV Metastatic Colon Cancer and resulted in a new stage of life including a colostomy bag and chemotherapy.

I can’t help but think that God prompted the move to WordPress in preparation for this new adventure in my life. So for most of the next two years most of my focus on the blog was in regard to journeying through life with the 4 Cs … cancer, chemotherapy, colostomy …. and most importantly Christ Jesus. The Lord revealed Himself to me through this journaling experience in ways I never would have imagined and in the midst of these trials strengthened my faith and the faith of my family. Blogging became a conversation between the Lord, you and me. It was a constant encouragement to me … and based on some of the comment feedback in some instances it was an encouragement to you as well.

Thank you for sharing wisdom, experiences, insights, challenges, prayers, etc. in your comments. They have been such a blessing to me.

Thank you for taking the time to read and consider the blog posts as well … I realize that quite frequently the content is a bit longer than social media convention recommends. So I appreciate the time you gave and give to read the posts, the time to consider and contemplate what was written, and then the time to provide your thoughtful and encouraging comments.

Thank you for your prayers … God continues to answer those prayers in both big and small ways on a daily basis.

The last year has seen a lull in the growth and spreading of the cancer and the ceasing of chemo for nearly a year now … going through my quarterly CT scan in a couple of weeks to see if the cancer growth continues to remain static.

ALL PRAISE, HONOR and GLORY to GOD ALMIGHTY!

So for the past year, the focus of the blog has not been quite as clear. I have written on Scripture passages and subjects as I was lead by the Spirit … the blogging is a little less frequent now with gaps from time to time … I am not sense the leading and conviction as frequently to write or what to write about … perhaps in some way I am quenching the Spirit … I am indeed praying about that. I have shared book reviews … I typically read somewhere between 55-60 books a year … my kindle makes that so easy. I have also shared some photoblogs from time to time of places we have visited. I am also spending time in twitter, LinkedIn and even have a small … very small presence in Pinterest.

Plus as I have shared recently I have been more active as a men’s small group leader and later this week I will begin leading a six week roundtable with some of my co-workers through the John Maxwell book, ‘Make Today Count’. I have also taken advantage of this lull in chemo to exercise more … and build more memories through activities and experiences with my family. And then like most of you I work and sleep … some days there just don’t seem to be enough hours.

So from a blogging perspective … I currently find myself in a bit of a lull. As a writer, I go through these from time to time. I have learned through the years not to force my writing. Some would say I should write through it but I would rather patiently wait on God’s inspiration.

So on this 10 year anniversary of blogging, I wanted to thank each and every one of you who read what I write and enjoy the pictures I post … and I also want to thank those of you that rate, like and comment on the posts.

I’m sure there is more to come … thank YOU for being such a blessing and joining in the journey!

May you and yours abide IN Christ Jesus, His love and His words …

HE IS RISEN!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Cancer & Medicine, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thank you … 10 years and counting

  1. jimdavenport says:

    Bernie, I understand but most of all God understands. God has touched so many lives through your blog … That is how we were reintroduced to each other. Thank you for carving out some of your time for our regular exchange. You are a blessing to me Brother. Jim

    • bwebbjr says:

      Appreciate your encouraging words and friendship Jim … many doors have been opened or reopened thru the blog and for that I am indeed thankful. And as to the blessing … it is definitely a mutual blessing! Bernie

Leave a Reply

