all is well … just different

There is an appointed time for everything. And there is a time for every event under heavenA time to give birth and a time to die; A time to plant and a time to uproot what is planted.                        A time to kill and a time to heal; A time to tear down and a time to build up. A time to weep and a time to laugh; A time to mourn and a time to dance. A time to throw stones and a time to gather stones; A time to embrace and a time to shun embracing. A time to search and a time to give up as lost; A time to keep and a time to throw away. A time to tear apart and a time to sew together; A time to be silent and a time to speak. A time to love and a time to hate; A time for war and a time for peace. What profit is there to the worker from that in which he toils? I have seen the task which God has given the sons of men with which to occupy themselves. God Set Eternity in the Heart of Man He has made everything appropriate in its time. He has also set eternity in their heart, yet so that man will not find out the work which God has done from the beginning even to the end. I know that there is nothing better for them than to rejoice and to do good in one’s lifetime; moreover, that every man who eats and drinks sees good in all his labor–it is the gift of God. Ecclesiastes 3:1-13 (NASB)

Oftentimes silence on the blog means one of two things. Either I am struggling spiritually, mentally and emotionally or I am struggling physically. While the blog has been silent for a few weeks, it is not because of either of these things.

All is well just different …

Physically I am stronger and healthier than I have probably been in 10-15 years, the cancer is not spreading, and I am fast approaching a one year anniversary without chemo … ALL praise, thanksgiving, honor and glory to the Lord!

Spiritually I am wrestling with a number of things … but not from a point of weakness or doubt but from a perspective of becoming stronger and more confident in my faith and trust IN Christ Jesus.

I am now in my second semester of leading a men’s small group that meets first thing on Monday mornings at a local Chick-Fil-A or Christian Chicken as some like to call it. Last semester our curriculum was simply to go a bit deeper into the message we heard over the weekend … sometimes we had a prepared curriculum and some time we would just wing it under the guidance of the Spirit. But from a leader perspective, there really was not a lot of preparation involved.

However, this semester has been a bit more intense.   Our Senior Pastor Kevin Myers released a book called Home Run: Learn God’s Plan for Life and Leadership which he co-wrote with his mentor John Maxwell. From a small group perspective, we are in the eighth and final week of the curriculum associated with this book … an excellent book by the way. And while the church has provided the curriculum, as a leader my practice has been to read through the chapter(s) to be discussed each week 4 times … a quick read, a second read with highlighter, a third read with red pen and a final read to capture highlights in my journal … I have also taken the curriculum and prepared a worksheet we discuss from on Monday mornings.

But there is more …

After one week off for spring break, we will then be spending four weeks going through the book The Blessed Life: Unlocking the Rewards of Generous Living by Robert Morris. Yes, the church will be providing a curriculum … and yes, I will be doing my own intense reading and studying to prepare for each week. This will take me through the first week of May. The challenge for me with this book as a leader … I am not quite on the same page with all the author teaches. So I am wrestling with what I have come to embrace as old covenant theology vs. new covenant theology … hopefully with an open mind, a teachable spirit, and an obedient will … but I have not made much progress to date. So my additional challenges are in being obedient to my church leaders and carrying a bucket of water instead of a bucket of gas. Prayers in the midst of this ‘wrestling’ (yet to determine if it is with man or with God) are greatly appreciated!

But I’m not done … in mid April my plan … my hope … is to begin and facilitate a once-a-week six week long business roundtable with a few of my co-workers walking through and discussing some of the ideas in the John Maxwell book, Make Today Count. More reading and preparation …

Oh yes, and then once or twice a week I am journaling through the associated Scriptures with the devotional entries in the book Knowing Jesus by Jim Reapsome … while the book is interesting … copying the associated Scriptures down and then journaling through them has proven to be an incredible experience … lots of good material for blog entries … just no time to do so.

And of course then there is family life, church life, work and sleep (is it really essential?).

As I mentioned earlier, I am stronger and healthier than ever … I continue to walk 3-4 times a week and do dumb bell workouts a couple of times a week. While this improves my fitness, it has prepared me for many weekend hike and day trips with my wife and grandson in late winter and the first week of spring. We just had an incredible trip to the Georgia coast walking and shopping on Broughton and River Streets in Savannah, the Wings, Wheels and Run event at the Brunswick Airport (walked the 5K with my grandson), hiked through the Harris Neck Wildlife Refuge, visited the historic Fort King George, and more … and this 60 year old cancer warrior wore out his younger wife and 11 year old grandson … the Lord has blessed me incredibly!

So for now … or longer … only God knows at this point … blogging is not the priority for me that it has been for nearly ten years. Maybe that will change … maybe not … only time will tell.

Just wanted to let all of you that follow the blog know …

All is well … just different.

God has made everything appropriate in its time …

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Books, Movies & Music, Cancer & Medicine, Faith, Places & Activities, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to all is well … just different

  1. Sandy B. says:

    Lord Jesus, I pray you will give Bernie the gift of discernment as he leads through a book that he is unsure of. Help him prioritize his time in a way that is in agreement with your plan for his life. Thank you, Lord, for your good work in Bernie. May he be blessed and a blessing to those he touches.

  2. Grateful for the update. My heart has been searching and my mind wandering the will and purpose of God for you. Now I can rest from those concerns and get busy on the things most needful for you! Thank you.

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thank you Richard … thank you for your love, your concern, your prayers and your encouragement as we journey up the narrow path … you are a blessing to me brother!

      Bernie

  3. Butch Dean says:

    I agree in prayer with Sandy B.

  4. jimdavenport says:

    Since I regularly meet with my brother in Christ I can testify that his faith and demeanor are strong in the Lord. Somewhat like myself, all Bernie wants is to do his Father’s will and to see others grow in their relationship with the Lord. God bless those of you who pray regularly for our brother. I know that the Lord is hearing your prayers! Jim D.

Leave a Reply

