the secret … only God!

praise_the_lord

On Monday February 10 I had my normal 12 week CT scan to determine what if anything my cancer is doing … this marks 36 weeks without chemo (in an earlier post I had indicated 39 weeks … just a blip … obviously I can’t claim chemo brain).   Then I was scheduled for a follow-up visit with my oncologist on Wednesday, February 12 for the results.

Of course here in the greater Atlanta area, Atlantarctica 2014 or Snowpacolypse #2 hit for three days starting Tuesday February 11 and most everybody stayed home on Wednesday and Thursday so my follow-up visit with my oncologist was moved to Monday, February 17.

Some folks have asked, “Why didn’t you call for your results over the phone on Tuesday or Friday?  Aren’t you anxious for the results?”

No, I wasn’t anxious about the results at all.  And this is not because I was confident in what the CT scan results would reveal.  No, my confidence … my faith … is IN the Lord God Almighty who has brought me through 60 years of life and nearly 7 years of the cancer battle.  My confidence is not in the results … my faith is IN Christ Jesus.  For this one aspect of my life, He has my complete surrender and submission to His will (Wish I could say the same thing about other areas of my life … but those areas are still UNDER CONSTRUCTION).

So this past Monday, I went in to see my oncologist for the results.

He opened the door to the examination room and the first words out of his mouth, “Well, I don’t need to see you for three more months.”  The CT scan basically showed no change since the last scan 12 weeks ago.  Also the creatinine (kidney function) counts were back down in the normal range of 1.2, this after the placement of a ureter stent back in late November.  So this means my consecutive weeks without chemotherapy will increase to 48 … almost a year … before my next scan.

So you might be wondering what my secret is in the battle against cancer …

The secret … only God!

And I do mean only God!  I claim absolutely no credit, no works whatsoever in this current victory over cancer … I have no idea how long it will last … the secret … the answer … is … ONLY GOD!

In June of 2013, He rescued me from the damaging effects that chemotherapy was having on my body … primarily revealed through liver issues.  And for the last 36 weeks, He has been showing everyone, including me, that God is greater than all … and that includes cancer and chemotherapy.

I won’t pretend to have any answers to the question ‘Why?’ … except God’s mercy, grace and love!

So when I got back to the truck, as after every oncologist visit for results, I called my wife … and I called my mom … to give them both the good news.  They have both been so supportive and loving throughout this cancer journey and my entire life in general!

Then I made my habitual celebratory stop …

Yes, I have a routine after every visit to the oncologist or imaging lab … my next stop is at the nearby Dunkin’ Donuts for the reward of a medium caramel iced coffee with cream and sugar along with a Manager’s Special Donut … basically a vanilla cream frosting filled donut topped with chocolate frosting.   And it is always so good on the ride home …

Earthly and eternal life continues … thank you Lord!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Cancer & Medicine, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

