70 times 7: God appointed reading assignments

neon lights

This is a footnote … a divine interruption so to speak … to the series 70 times 7 … a series where I’m sharing lessons learned and recent God prompts experienced in the midst of a 15 year journey with our 31-year-old prodigal daughter.  If you’re new to the conversation and would like to catch up, just use the search box on the right and enter “70 times 7”.

I need to warn you … the majority of the remaining posts in this series offer some real challenges for prodigal parents … maybe both you and me … or maybe its specifically intended for just me … challenges that go counter to what I’ve embraced in the past.

All day today God has been prompting me that there is a preparation I need to be doing in the midst of this series … late Saturday afternoon it became clear God wanted me to read the Old Testament book of the prophet Hosea.  So I got out an extra Bible and set it next to my recliner so I could begin the task at hand.  Then my wife, grandson and I went out to dinner at the local Buffalo’s Southwest Cafe then headed for the Saturday night service at our church.  During the message at church tonight, we arrived at that point where we needed to open our Bibles to the passage we were about to read.  So I reached under the chair in front of me for the church Bible and opened it to begin my journey to Romans 6.  Lo and behold the Bible automatically opened to … you guessed it … Hosea 1:1 … definitely not one of the more frequented books of any Bible.

Yes Lord, I got my message in bright neon lights!

Here’s a thought and a question I penciled out on opposite sides of an index card today.  Consider …

“So often in this prodigal journey I have dealt with my daughter in a more judgmental, self-righteous, religious manner than the loving, grace-filled, merciful and compassionate way Jesus loves this world full of prodigals.”

I find the word dealt concerning … as I read what I had written I couldn’t help but think that sounds a bit Pharisaical … perhaps I need to spend a bit more time of self-evaluation in the midst of Matthew 23.

On the flip side of that index card I wrote this question …

“Who would believe that Jesus loves and forgives them if the people that love Jesus are not loving and forgiving them?”

That’s more than enough to consider for a Saturday night …

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 70 times 7: God appointed reading assignments

  1. jimdavenport says:

    Praying for you as you continue to listen to The Father …

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thanks for the ‘word’ of encouragement Sandy … please share any insights or lessons learned you believe will help prodigal parents … join in the conversation whenever you sense the God prompt.

      May God bless you and yours!

      Bern8ie

  2. Hosea is probably my favorite book in the Old Testament. Such a rich and beautiful story … such an amazing picture of a husband’s grace … and that of our God.

Leave a Reply

