please welcome baby Levi

On Tuesday January 22, 2014 at 7:53AM my seventh grandchild was born … at 6 pounds 5 ounces, please join me in welcoming my grandson Levi into this world …

IMG_5362

I praise God for the child He has wrought and woven in my daughter’s womb …

The Lord’s answer to your many prayers over the last two and a half years has carried me through many tough and trying times.  A bit of a warning … what I’m about to share here is open, honest and transparent … you have earned my trust.

So my prayer request to those who pass this way:  Please pray for protection and provision for this little child.  And pray that he would grow up to become a man fully devoted to God …

He is already facing many challenges: His parents; Rebecca and Sean, are unmarried, unemployed, homeless (family and friends have kept them in temporary quarters for two months now) and children of disobedience … their first and foremost need is surrender and submission to our Lord and Savior Christ Jesus.  Please pray according to the prompting and leading of the Holy Spirit.

Here are the passages of Scripture I sense the Holy Spirit leading me to as I write tonight …

Finally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of His might.  Put on the full armor of God, so that you will be able to stand firm against the schemes of the devil. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the powers, against the world forces of this darkness, against the spiritual forces of wickedness in the heavenly places.  Ephesians 6:10-12 (NASB)

The Lord’s bond-servant must not be quarrelsome, but be kind to all, able to teach, patient when wronged, with gentleness correcting those who are in opposition, if perhaps God may grant them repentance leading to the knowledge of the truth, and they may come to their senses and escape from the snare of the devil, having been held captive by him to do his will. 2 Timothy 2:24-26 (NASB)

For we also once were foolish ourselves, disobedient, deceived, enslaved to various lusts and pleasures, spending our life in malice and envy, hateful, hating one another.  But when the kindness of God our Savior and His love for mankind appeared, He saved us, not on the basis of deeds which we have done in righteousness, but according to His mercy, by the washing of regeneration and renewing by the Holy Spirit, whom He poured out upon us richly through Jesus Christ our Savior, so that being justified by His grace we would be made heirs according to the hope of eternal life.  Titus 3:3-7 (NIV)

Also please pray for my wife and me as well … that we would be sensitive to the leading and the will of God … that we would not be an obstruction or a hindrance to God’s plan … and that we would love these two children right into the arms of Christ Jesus.

A heartbroken but hopeful father and grandfather!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to please welcome baby Levi

  1. Dick Bowley says:

    27 After that He went out and noticed a tax collector named Levi sitting in the tax booth, and He said to him, “Follow Me.” 28 And he left everything behind, and got up and began to follow Him.

    I pray that your ‘Levi’ will (sooner than later) leave everything behind and follow Jesus! I pray this prayer also for his mom and dad.

    You are a great Barnabas/Encourager to me Bernie!

    • bwebbjr says:

      Dick – Thanks for the Scripture of encouragement regarding baby Levi and for your encouraging words. I know that you and your wife are prayer warriors and I value your prayers brother. Be blessed IN Christ Jesus, His love and His words! Bernie

  2. jimdavenport says:

    Bernie, I share with you as grandparents in prayer for little Levi and his parents … I pray especially that the need for God in the lives of the parents will become a constant burden to them and that they will turn their lives around and give their hearts over to Jesus Christ as Savior! … For their sakes and for little Levi… Jim

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thank you so much Jim and pass my thanks along to Charlotte as well … we are in total agreement about Who is needed most … may their eyes be opened and may the Lord give them a heart of flesh! Abide IN Christ Jesus and His love my friend … Abide!

      Bernie

  3. Congratulations. And I’ll be praying for you all. (I understand exactly where you are at)

    • bwebbjr says:

      Appreciate your empathy Dawn … thank you for the prayers … will continue to keep you and your daughter in my prayers too. With God all things are possible … praying for a break-thru.

      Be strong and hopeful IN the Lord sister!

      Bernie

  4. abundantlife says:

    The LORD desires whole houses to be saved. May His kindness quickly lead all family members to repentance and into His arms of love. Congratulations with the new addition. You are a noble man of God. Stand firm and believe in all of His beautiful promises!

    • bwebbjr says:

      Thank you for the congrats, the encouraging words and the prayer … while I really don’t feel like a noble man of God, I am indeed standing firm!

      Abide IN Christ Jesus, His love and His words my friend!

      Bernie

  5. Dear Bernie;

    Congratulations Bernie! And may the Lord be with you and baby Levi! As I read your post, and the encouraging comments your friends have posted, the following expression came into my mind “my servant David’s sake” or “for David my servant”…

    I looked them up in the scriptures and God used them again and again. The people of Israel were spared countless (and well-deserved) punishments…because of the Love of God for His servant David…as He says…for my servant David’s sake!

    Stand strong and do not hold your tongue for your family, and watch what our Lord is and will do for your sake.

    God bless!
    Serge

  6. Sandy B. says:

    Romans 8:29-31
    The Voice (VOICE)
    29-30 From the distant past, His eternal love reached into the future. You see, He knew those who would be His one day, and He chose them beforehand to be conformed to the image of His Son so that Jesus would be the firstborn of a new family of believers, all brothers and sisters. As for those He chose beforehand, He called them to a different destiny so that they would experience what it means to be made right with God and share in His glory.

    31 So what should we say about all of this? If God is on our side, then tell me: whom should we fear?

    I pray as you continue to intercede for your family you will trust the plans of God and his ability to see them prevail.

    Congratulations, Grandpa.

Leave a Reply

