one … not the loneliest number

Based on how ‘mature’ a person you may be, you may possibly remember the song ‘One is the Loneliest Number’ by Three Dog Night (Yes, our musical groups also had weird names).

But according to God, one is not necessarily the loneliest number …

We are to experience oneness in an individual abiding relationship with Jesus …

“I am the vine, you are the branches; he who abides IN Me and I IN him, he bears much fruit, for apart from Me you can do nothing.”  John 15:5 (NASB)

We are to experience oneness in marriage to the spouse He has set apart for us … I like how clearly Jesus defines this oneness in the gospel of Mark

“From the beginning of creation, God made them male and female. For this reason a man shall leave his father and mother, and the two shall become ONE flesh; so they are no longer two, but ONE flesh.  What therefore God has joined together, let no man separate.”  Mark 10:6-9 (NASB)

And we are to experience oneness IN the community of believers He affectionately calls His church and His bride …

Christ also loved the church and gave Himself up for her, so that He might sanctify her, having cleansed her by the washing of water with the word, that He might present to Himself the church in all her glory, having no spot or wrinkle or any such thing; but that she would be holy and blameless. Eph 5:25-27 (NASB)

As a bride, are we equally as sacrificial in response to our Bridegroom so that we might become ONE through Him with one another … that the world might truly know and believe that Jesus came from Father God as a result of His love as revealed through our unity IN Christ Jesus and our divine love for one another?

“I am no longer in the world; and yet they themselves are in the world, and I come to You. Holy Father, keep them in Your name, the name which You have given Me, that they may be ONE even as We are … I do not ask on behalf of these alone, but for those also who believe in Me through their word; that they may all be ONE; even as You, Father, are in Me and I in You, that they also may be in Us, so that the world may believe that You sent Me.” John 17:11,20-21 (NASB)

Note how Matthew Henry explained verses 20 and 21 …

“Our Lord especially prayed that all believers might be as one body under one head, animated by one soul, by their union with Christ and the Father in him, through the Holy Spirit dwelling in them.”

No, one is NOT necessarily the loneliest number.

ONE IS THE ULTIMATE NUMBER!

Thoughts, insights and comments?

Bernie

NOTE: This is an enhanced version of a post that was originally published on my Xanga blog in February 2009.

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to one … not the loneliest number

  1. judikruis says:

    Maybe even adding the ONEness of our Father – Son – Spirit! Ultimate indeed!
    peace and joy to you Bernie

Leave a Reply

