perhaps …

Perhaps Christianity is not so much about do’s and don’ts.

Perhaps Christianity is not about religion, traditions, ritual and restriction.

Perhaps Christianity is intended to be about love, faith, community and life.

Perhaps as Christians, our lives are to reveal this to others.

Perhaps as Christians, we are to love others.

Perhaps Christianity is to be totally and completely about … Christ Jesus.

Perhaps Christianity is to be about our relationship with Him

Perhaps Christianity in its truest sense is to be simply found … IN Christ.

Perhaps as Christians, we are to be diligent to preserve the unity of the Spirit.

Perhaps as Christians, we are to be bound together in peace.

Perhaps as Christians, we are to walk in all humility and gentleness.

Perhaps as Christians, we are to be patient, showing tolerance for one another in love.

Perhaps Christianity is to be truly ONE body and ONE Spirit.

Perhaps Christianity is to be truly a calling to ONE Lord, ONE faith and ONE baptism.

Perhaps Christianity is to be truly a calling to ONE God and Father of all.

Perhaps Christianity is to be truly IN the ONE who is over all and through all and IN all.

Perhaps as Christians, our ‘perhaps’ reveal doubt in THE way, THE truth and THE life.

Perhaps as Christians, our ‘perhaps’ reveal we embrace truth as relative NOT absolute.

Perhaps as Christians, our ‘perhaps’ reveals our false center of life … or is it death?

Perhaps Christianity does not draw people to Christ because of our ‘perhaps’.

Perhaps Christianity is no threat to the world because of our ‘perhaps’.

Perhaps as Christians, we are being deceived by our ‘perhaps’.

Perhaps as Christians, we are to return to the simplicity and purity of devotion to Christ.

Perhaps …

Merriam-Webster defines the adverb perhaps as possibly but not certainly and the noun perhaps as something open to doubt or conjecture.

The challenge for me … and possibly for you … is to live as if the title of this post and the opening of each line is undoubtedly and not perhaps … if you’re so led – take another minute, reread and consider the post as undoubtedly.

Believe IN Christ Jesus through ALL things!

Bernie

Note: I originally wrote and published the perhaps verses on my Xanga blog in January 2008. 

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to perhaps …

  1. jimdavenport says:

    Bernie, as I read the fourth or fifth one I already saw where you were going with your list and read the rest of the items with “Indeed” substituted for “perhaps”. This one was a blessing to me.
    Jim

    • bwebbjr says:

      I like it Jim … substituting ‘indeed’ for ‘perhaps’ … when I originally wrote this many years ago I simply left it at perhaps but as I pulled it out and dusted it off this week I saw it in a whole new light … glad to hear it was a blessing Jim. Bernie

Leave a Reply

