Lee Strobel on Santa and Christmas story

Lee Strobel 1.jpg

Sometimes in my diatribes against Santa Claus, I make the point that when and where imagination, reality and truth collide and a parent is suddenly forced to fess up to their child that Santa Claus is not real but has simply been a big game of pretend … in the mind and heart of that little child, one has ALSO suddenly cast doubt upon the true Christmas story and the birth of the baby Jesus. A child can’t help but wonder …

“Is the Christmas story real or pretend?  After all … the same adults that have been telling me Santa is real have also been telling me that Jesus is real.  Who and what can I really trust and believe?”

Recently I was reading Lee Strobel’s The Case for Christmas  and just a few pages in came across this bit of testimony from Lee himself:

“As a youngster, like countless other wide-eyed children, I listened with rapt fascination to the annual Bible story about Christmas.  But as I matured, skepticism set in.  I concluded that not only is Santa Claus a feel-good fable, but that the entire Christmas tale was itself built on a flimsy foundation of wishful thinking.”

As many of you may know, Lee Strobel was a lifelong atheist and also a journalist who a bit later in life was awakened to the call of Christ Jesus and has since become a well-known apologist and author.  So on the one hand you may say, it all worked out.

But you can’t help but wonder how much of his skepticism was born out of what he found out about the feel-good fable of Santa and influenced how he interpreted the birth of Jesus then subsequently prompted him to embrace atheism for 30 plus years.

And I can’t help but wonder, “How many other people have become skeptics and atheists as a result of the ‘pretend’ game of Santa?” 

Offered simply as food for thought …

Bernie

Note: This post was originally published in December 2010.

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Christmas, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lee Strobel on Santa and Christmas story

  1. Though the Catholic Church celebrates Christmas in late December, it is also aware that Jesus, according to the biblical account, was probably born in during the springtime.

    The birth of Jesus, the Light of the world, is celebrated when the light of day is shortest and the dark of night is longest.

    Judeo-Christianity and its Bible are chock full of symbols and layered meaning.

    Atheists join with their postmodern Protestant brethren in viewing the Bible 100% literally.

Leave a Reply

