So what moon phase am I?

Whenever I see a full moon like I did on the Monday night commute home, in my mind’s eye I see a believer fully reflecting the Light of Jesus … a personal analogy that has pressed in on me for a number of years.

So this week I’ve been working on an analogy of the various moon phases to the various phases of the spiritual life.  If you did not read the previous post ‘understanding the moon phases’, you might want to backup one post and check it out … it will help this post and my analogy make a bit more sense.

apples2orangesLet’s set the stage

In my analogy …

The sun is the Son of God, Christ Jesus, Light of the world.

Then Jesus again spoke to them, saying, “I am the Light of the world; he who follows Me will not walk in the darkness, but will have the Light of life.”  John 8:12 (NASB)

The moon represents man.

The earth would be the world and all its trappings.

And the so-called stage for this play is the darkness.

This is the judgment, that the Light has come into the world, and men loved the darkness rather than the Light, for their deeds were evil.  John 3:19 (NASB)

Walking through the phases

We’ll start with the new moon … in the heavens the moon is positioned between the sun and earth so from earth the moon face is reflecting no light, only darkness … the sun is closest to the moon in this phase but it is shining on its backside.

A new moon represents unrepentant man.  His face is fully facing the world.  He has turned his back on the Son.  Yet in this phase, the Son is close and in hot pursuit of man.

Now with the full moon … the earth is positioned between the moon and the sun so from the earth the moon face is fully reflecting the light of the sun … the sun and the moon are the furthest apart in this phase yet the moon shines brightly.

A full moon represents a repentant born-again man fully sanctified, transformed and devoted to Christ Jesus.  His Light is fully reflected in the face of the believer and shines unto the world.  Yet the enemy and the world are positioned between the Son and the man totally intent on disrupting the man’s devotion to the Lord.

As the new moon progresses toward a full moon, it is waxing or “increasing” in illumination and “decreasing” in darkness.  In a gibbous moon phase, the moon is more than half illuminated.

He must increase, but I must decrease.  John 3:30 (NASB)

As the full moon continues its journey back to a new moon, it is waning or “decreasing” in illumination and “increasing” in darkness.  In a crescent moon phase, the moon is less than half illuminated.

Sometimes God chooses to take an unrepentant man from a new moon phase to a full moon phase in a moment … sometimes the movement from new moon to full moon takes years as the man slowly but surely waxes moving through crescent and gibbous phases in route to the full moon.  As a man makes the transition from fully facing the world to fully facing the Son, the Light of life slowly increases within him and the darkness decreases.

If we say that we have fellowship with Him and yet walk in the darknesswe lie and do not practice the truth; but if we walk in the Light as He Himself is in the Lightwe have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus His Son cleanses us from all sin.  1 John 1:6-7 (NASB)

But man struggles with the flesh, the world and sin and sometimes rather than waxing, he wanes … the Holy Spirit is quenched, the Light the world sees in him decreases, and the darkness increases.  Fortunately …

For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life.  For God did not send the Son into the world to judge the world, but that the world might be saved through Him.  John 3:16-17 (NASB)

So we’re back to the same closing as the last post … hopefully we are now a bit better equipped to consider and answer these questions.

Am I a full moon?

If not, am I waxing or waning?

Am I crescent or gibbous?

How about you?

You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden; nor does anyone light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on the lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house.  Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven.  Matthew 5:14-16 (NASB)

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to So what moon phase am I?

  1. jimdavenport says:

    Bernie, what a great analogy! Really makes you think. Pressing on toward the mark. Jim

    • bwebbjr says:

      Glad to hear it made sense to you … after soaking on it for a few days it seemed to make sense to me but when you share with others you’re just not always sure you have explained it clearly. So I appreciate both the confirmation and encouragement Jim.

  2. Nice analogy! I always have thought of the moon as female…maybe because I always see it connected to images of the Blessed Mother 🙂

Leave a Reply

