cystoscopy with ureteral stent placement explained

Well, that’s certainly a mouthful …

Thank you to all of you that lifted up prayers for me on Friday … the procedure went as planned and 24 hours later I have to say recovery is proceeding great … diet and drink are both normal, took a nice one mile walk this morning, and actually had a pretty good night of sleep.  While I could never identify with any of the listed side effects … I can definitely say I have an overall sense of just feeling much better today.  Which is certainly to be expected … according to my urologist my left kidney was totally and completely blocked from the outside and both the kidney and the ureter were swollen.  This should also bring my creatinine or kidney function counts back down to normal. So thank you Jesus for the scan that detected the problem and the procedure that could correct it and above all for Your healing touch!!!

For those of you wondering how exactly this procedure works, and it’s not for the squeamish at heart, think colonoscopy … only going through the front side, navigating through two organs and a much smaller passageway while inserting some plumbing reinforcement.  Oh yes, and they knock you out … waaaaay out, thank you Lord!

Now that I have provided my common man explanation … here is the explanation from my consent form … which conveniently leaves out any explanation regarding point of entry …

“This procedure involves a cystoscopy (insertion of a thin, tubular, lighted instrument for viewing and for passing small surgical tools into the uretha and bladder), as well as placement of a stent (tube) through the ureter(s) (ducts leading from the kidney to bladder).

After an anesthetic (drug or agent causing loss of feeling) is given, the patient is placed face up on the procedure table with both legs raised and held in stirrups.  The cystoscope is then passed through the urethra into the bladder.  The doctor examines the lining of the urethra and bladder and visualizes the ureteral openings into the bladder.

A small tube (about one-tenth of an inch wide) is placed into the ureteral opening on one or both sides.  X-ray dye is injected into the tube, filling the ureter and collecting portions of the kidney.  The tube is removed, and x-rays are taken.

A soft flexible wire is then advanced through the ureter into the kidney.  A stent (a soft synthetic tube which curls at each end) is then threaded over the guiding wire through the ureter into the kidney.  The wire is then removed.

The doctor verifies that the coils on the two ends of the stent have been positioned in the bladder and kidney, which fixes the stent in place.  The cystoscope is then removed.”

Any reader anxious to volunteer for the experience of this procedure?  I didn’t think so.

Well, I have to do it again in three months and then after that approximately every six months.  Of course doctors have told me things like that before … and God had a completely different plan!

Let the journey and good health continue!

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Cancer & Medicine, Reflections, Surgery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to cystoscopy with ureteral stent placement explained

  1. Pingback: Round 2 – ureteral stint replacement complete | Believing IN Christ Jesus through ALL things

Leave a Reply

