I Am a Church Member … an important little book

I Am a Church Member: Discovering the Attitude That Makes the Difference by Thom S. Rainer is an important little book that addresses the attitudes and responsibilities of church members that contribute to a healthy and unified local church …

I Am a Church Member

And it does so in six brief but succinct and scripturally based chapters:

  1. I Will Be a Functioning Church Member
  2. I Will Be a Unifying Church Member
  3. I Will Not Let My Church Be About My Preferences and Desires
  4. I Will Pray for My Church Leaders
  5. I Will Lead My Family to Be Healthy Church Members
  6. I Will Treasure Church Membership as a Gift

Any of those chapter titles strike a nerve for you?

In my twenty years or so of church membership at several churches, at one time or another I am certain I have failed those churches on each and every one of the issues addressed by this book.

This little book is the perfect primer (or Church Membership 101) for members of the body of Christ … be they babes in the faith of lifelong saints.  While I believe the book was written for church congregations to do together, it also serves as an excellent study for any believer who desires to fulfill his or her God ordained role in the local body of Christ.

Each chapter ends with a pledge for the reader to read, sign and commit to heart.  And while I would love to share all six of those pledges here on the blog … I doubt the publisher or author would appreciate that.  But so you can get a sense of those pledges I am going to share the pledge for chapter 4 …

I am a church member.

I will pray for my pastor every day.  His work is never-ending.  His days are filled with constant demands for his time – with the need to prepare sermons, with those who are rejoicing in births, with those who are traveling through the valley of the shadow of death, with critics, with the hurts and hopes of others, and with the need to be a husband and father.  My pastor cannot serve our church in his power.  I will pray for God’s strength for him and his family every day.

So far to go to become all the Lord desires …

And He gave some as apostles, and some as prophets, and some as evangelists, and some as pastors and teachers, for the equipping of the saints for the work of service, to the building up of the body of Christ; until we all attain to the unity of the faith, and of the knowledge of the Son of God, to a mature man, to the measure of the stature which belongs to the fullness of Christ.  As a result, we are no longer to be children, tossed here and there by waves and carried about by every wind of doctrine, by the trickery of men, by craftiness in deceitful scheming; but speaking the truth in love, we are to grow up in all aspects into Him who is the head, even Christ, from whom the whole body, being fitted and held together by what every joint supplies, according to the proper working of each individual part, causes the growth of the body for the building up of itself in love.  Ephesians 4:11-16 (NASB)

If you are so inclined, I highly recommend this little book.

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Books, Movies & Music, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

