quotes that struck a nerve today

Today I encountered three quotes that really struck a nerve with me and warranted being recorded on index cards to be read, reread and considered over and over again … and I guess blogged about.

When I brought up my twitter account on the internet first thing this morning, the following was the very first tweet I encountered …

“If you really want to do something, you’ll find a way.  If you don’t, you’ll find an excuse.”   – Jim Rohn

Ouch!  As a husband who has responded quite frequently with excuses to my wife’s later-to-be-proven brilliant ideas, this one struck a real nerve me.  Guess that makes her a “you’ll find a way” kinda person … and makes me … this is indeed a wake-up quote for me.

My wife and I took my truck to our local garage and tire center … Trinity Tire … for an oil change.  In route we drove past a local motorcycle sales and repair center that has one of those message signs so many little churches in the southeast have.  Today’s quote on the sign …

“Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value.”

As one who frequently wrestles with the concept of success in the kingdom of God, this quote resonated with me.  Of course, then Google needed to tell me who gets credit for this quote.

So guess who?

Albert Einstein … so in this little north Georgia town we have an Einstein quoting motorcycle shop owner … I like it … I like it a lot!

And finally, I am reading Jeff Goins latest book, The In-Between: Embracing the Tension Between Now and the Next Big Thing.  It’s an interesting little book in which Jeff reveals through the story of his own life that the greatest experiences and memories in life more often than not occur not so much in the major events we all live for but in the “minor” moments that occur in-between

So here’s the quote that stuck with me as I was reading his book today …

“God is less concerned with exactly what I’m doing and more concerned with who I’m becoming.”

Considering …

Have any favorite quotes you would like to share?

Bernie

About bwebbjr

A grandfather, father, husband, man, and a child of God who is following Christ Jesus and working out his salvation with fear and trembling; for it is God who is at work IN me, both to will and to work for His good pleasure (Philippians 2:12-13). I dodged my first bullet with cancer when a cancerous polyp was removed in a sigmoid colectomy surgery in August 2007. Four years later, in the midst of a second colectomy surgery we discovered I had Stage IV metastatic colon cancer. Rather than colectomy surgery I had colostomy surgery, which now means the colostomy bag is a part of my everyday life ... with the emphasis on life. God has given us a peace beyond understanding as my wife and I have traveled this journey. By the grace of God I am blessed to be a 6 plus year cancer survivor aka warrior. In writing, I am often wrestling with my own personal struggles and beliefs and in the midst God leads me to a lesson He wants me to learn ... or sometimes He simply touches me in the revelation of Himself. My hope is that the result you see here might touch your heart and glorify God. And let me be clear ... I am not the only one with something to say. Please join in the conversation sharing your faith, your cancer experiences, etc. I would love to hear from you. Bernie
This entry was posted in Books, Movies & Music, Faith, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to quotes that struck a nerve today

  1. My “hat is off to you” brother Bernie. I imagine you and I are similar in many regards. Right now I have 13 small scraps of paper in my pants pocket. These scraps are covered with ideas that come to mind during the day or important things I read and strike my heart or mind. These scraps will stay in my pocket, being added to, until I have time to sort through and begin to write a blog or a sermon with each one.

    One that has been bouncing around in my pocket for a while is this by Charles Spurgeon: “All men’s faults are not written on their foreheads, and it’s quite as well they are not, or hats would need very wide brims.”

    Now, where did I leave my 5 foot wide sombrero????

    • bwebbjr says:

      Can i get one of those sombreros???

      Post-it notes, spiral bound notebooks, church bulletins, moleskines, dropbox, Evernote, Lotus Notes, twitter … my ideas, thoughts, dreams and more are recorded in all these places. Many of those ideas and thoughts never come to fruition … what seems insightful when recorded above lacks inspiration when I get ready to expand upon it.

      May we continue to record our thoughts on whatever is available … thanks for sharing Richard.

      Bernie

Leave a Reply

